Two Lives, One Lifestyle


‘Twas many nights before Christmas by Katie
December 25, 2009, 10:30 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie

Merry Christmas!  I’m usually not so busy, I feel badly about not posting!!  Here is a quick recap of the past two days.

Wednesday night, my stepdad broke out his new gnocci roller (it imprints the gnocci with ridges).  It was much simpler than I expected to make!  Equal parts ricotta and flour + an egg and a sprinkle of parmesan.  Then, roll the dough into logs, slice, and roll on the gnocci roller.

Covered in homemade sauce

So filling and delicious!  Maybe not the best choice before a pub crawl but I pulled through.  We donned some ugly Christmas sweaters and hit up a few different bars.  My cousin bought a round of Jameson for all.

Lots of beers were tried and great laughs were had.  Rochester is heavily Italian and we felt we needed to make our mark so we had an Irish drinks theme and my cousin talked with an Irish lilt half the night- the second half… imagine that!  My wonderful sister picked us up and I finally went to sleep at 3:30.  And then woke up at 8:30 Christmas eve morning with a TON to do before Christmas!!

My sisters and I went to brunch (a newer tradition we are trying to keep up with) at Charlie’s Frog Pond and I had an artichoke and sausage egg white omelette.  A good balance between the handover pig-out I wanted to have and my usual breakfasts.  I was very tired but I knew I had no time to nap so I just kept on moving all day.  I grabbed a few last minute things I needed, baked more 3 cheese beer bread for gifts, toasted some rosemary pecans, wrapped gifts, and headed to my step-dad’s family Christmas party.  We brought some of the cookies I made

I promise I have a very good reason for taking no pictures there- my step-uncle just got a brand new gorgeous Nikon DSLR and he let me play with it- I am SO IN LOVE!!  I played with some different settings and I hope he emails me some of the good pictures.  I definitely took a lot of bad pictures while I experimented but I managed to get the hang of it and take some keepers.  A DSLR is at the top of my list for when I have a real job ;).

Speaking of camera’s, I did get a new Nikon point and shoot today!  Finally! No more suffering through BlackBerry pictures!  I’m going to load the software tomorrow and then upload Christmas pictures.  It was definitely my most anticipated gift but I got so many lovely things I can’t say it was my favorite, everyone did such a great job!

What was your favorite Christmas or Hanukkah gift?

Good night!



Merry Christmas! by Kelli
December 25, 2009, 2:22 pm
Filed under: Holidays, Kelli

Merry bloggy Christmas!  I hope everyone is having a great Christmas day and got everything they wanted!  We woke up nice and early to open presents at Stephen’s grandparent’s condo.  Instead of stockings this year, Stephen’s mom put all the stocking stuffers in sand pails!  So fun 🙂  I got lots of fun yoga clothing this year from a store called “lucy”.  I also got a new purse that I have been eyeing!  Tonight we are going to Christmas dinner at a fantastic resturant that has a pre-set Christmas dinner.  I cant wait for some baked brie!  Tomorrow morning we are off to Disney!!