Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Aunt Laurie’s Rainbow Chard + Bacon by Katie
September 12, 2010, 2:10 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Grilling

If anyone’s keeping track (we have at least  two regular readers!), Kelli nor I have exactly been on top of this whole blog thing.  There are a lot of updates I want to make but basically anytime I’m in front of the computer I feel obliged to do job search related things.  Then it just got overwhelming how behind I was and I stopped updating at all.  Give up because there is too much to do? Doesn’t sound like me.  Well I got the push I needed.  Last night there were plans for dinner at my Aunt Laurie’s house and around 3 she called.

Laurie: “Hey, what are you doing?”

Me: “Applying to jobs and chasing flies around the house with McSchultz.”

L: “Okay well make sure you bring your camera tonight.”

Me: “Alright… why??”

L: “Because you have a blog you’ve been neglecting and I have beautiful chard!”

It’s true.

Cooked up with some onions and bacon, topped with pine nuts. Please enlarge that picture. Everything is better with bacon!

It was yet another example of how delicious simple and fresh can be with a few ingredients.

Actually, the whole dinner was just that- simple ingredient lists and incredible flavors.  Roasted potatoes with fresh rosemary and chives, roasted broccoli with pickled peppers, roasted beets, grilled pork tenderloin, and skillet cornbread.  Oh have I mentioned Laurie is a good cook?? And shout-out to Uncle Scott’s grill skills.

Thank you for the photo opp, great dinner, and encouraging me to get back on the blog!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your pictures make the food look like it belongs in Menu magazine! Thank you, next time basil pesto!

Comment by laurie

A job opportunity?? I wish!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

