Two Lives, One Lifestyle


The Key to a Salad You Actually Want to Eat by Katie
July 23, 2010, 10:12 am
Filed under: Katie, Lunch, Nutrition, Salad

The key?  Use just as many toppings as lettuce.  This salad base had spinach and romaine.  Toppings included: tomatoes, cucumber, sundried tomatoes, celery, roasted red pepper, chopped hard-boiled egg, and a bit of crumbly blue cheese (between the red pepper and blue cheese my mom is probably shocked and proud). Oh and a little bit of dressing.

If there isn’t enough toppings, it gets boring. If there isn’t enough protein or fat, it isn’t filling.   Poor salad and it’s bad rap.

The other night, I ordered a salad at a restaurant that had strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, goat cheese, toasted slivered almonds, and grilled shrimp.  Berries and goat cheese cannot ever be wrong.

[After I ordered this salad I told John that I’m like a bear. He gave a blank stare. I explained: I eat hearty foods in the winter and gain a little weight and then in the summer I eat lighter and shed a little weight.  That’s like a bear, no?]

What’s your ideal salad?  What animal are you like?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love salad, but only a “real” salad. A few leaves and a cherry tomato with dressing is not even food, as far as I’m concerned. It will graduate to food when you put some toppings on that baby!

Thanks for sharing some salad love.

I think I prefer sweeter salads to savory salads – berries, nuts, dried fruit, cottage cheese, avocado, carrots, tofu, etc.

Comment by Jaime

Oh that salad looks sooo good!! 🙂

Comment by Abby




Leave a Reply

