Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Tomatoes and Rice by Katie
July 21, 2010, 6:01 pm
Filed under: Cravings, Dinner, Family, Grilling, Katie, Original Recipe

Simple, straightforward name for a simple dish.  This was my all-time, hands-down, ultimate favorite dish growing up.  I still love it, though I find it tough to decide on a single favorite now.  Outside of my family, I don’t know anyone or anywhere that eats this so let me know if you have because we are probably soul mates.

The steps are simple enough: find good tomatoes and dice them.

Then cover the tomatoes in Italian Dressing and refrigerate.

To make it “perfect” use Wegmans Parmesan Italian Dressing.  But of course with Wegmans far away from me, I can’t always achieve perfection.

The Newman’s Own just did not have enough zesty flavor for tomatoes and rice, though I like it in a salad context.

While the tomatoes marinate and chill, make white rice.  Another key to tomatoes and rice is white rice.  I prefer brown rice for just about anything else except this.  It’s the childhood favoritism coming out.

Finally, cover the hot white fluffy rice with the cold marinated tomatoes.  Enjoy.

To really live it up, have some grilled zucchini on the side.  This was my requested birthday dinner for many years (until I discovered Mexican food and margaritas).

The zucchini was marinated in ground pepper, salt, balsamic vinegar (nice caramelizing), and a really small touch of oil.

What would your “birthday meal” from childhood be?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks soooo good! I’m kind of craving it now!

Comment by Abby

tomatoes & rice…recipe given to me (when I was your age) by a friend from Columbia. This was always served as a side to pork steaks that were dry rubbed w/ spices (not available in the US then) and grilled. Mangos & vanilla ice cream for dessert!

Comment by Laurie

Wow, sounds like an amazing meal. Too bad about the spices not bring available! Johns cousin married a guy from Columbia, I should ask him about it next time I see them.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

After I read this mom called me in for dinner and we were eating tomatoes and rice that night! weird!

Comment by Madelyn

And probably with the good dressing!!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

