Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Mango Fish Tacos by Katie
July 9, 2010, 11:28 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Grilling, Katie

Up front, let me apologize about using my BlackBerry for these pictures.  My camera batteries were charging and I had to take some pictures.  This dinner was so easy, delicious, and great for summer since there was no stove or oven usage.

There is a little cafe in Fort Collins with fish tacos that I’ve become borderline obsessed with. I could eat them for lunch daily.  Since that would get expensive, why not figure it out on my own?

First, I made some guacamole- I think that part is self-explanatory? Avocados + tomatoes + garlic + cilantro + spices.  Then into the fridge it went for flavor marrying purposes.

Next, I made a simple marinade a la Bobby Flay with oil, lime juice, chili powder, and a jalapeño.  I placed a mahi-mahi filet in the marinade and turned on the grill.

After 15 minutes of marinating, the fish went on the grill until the flesh was solid white in color.  This was my first time grilling fish- not too shabby.

Then, John warmed up some corn tortillas on the grill and we topped them with flaked fish, mango salsa (mango, corn, peppers, black beans, garlic… it was made the other day), and guacamole.

Perfect flavor combination!  And since the grill was used, cleaning up was simple. More time to enjoy some porch wine in this perfect 75* weather.

PS- If I were to make this for Kelli, imagine it with shrimp. I do believe shrimp, guacamole, and mango make her top ten favorite foods ever list.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Not much of a fish fan…but this sounds/looks really good. With our current heat wave, even using the grill is too much. Nothing like standing outside in 90 degrees w/ jungle humidity & a hot grill! So, this is going in the mental cookbook for next week! I might have to add some rice & tomatoes tho…

Comment by Laurie

I haven’t made rice and tomatoes once this summer! I’ve gotta get on that. The heat wave you had sounds miserable, hope you get a cool front soon.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Thanks SO MUCH for your sweet words on my blog!!! ❤

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA




Leave a Reply

