Two Lives, One Lifestyle


In The Middle… by Kelli
July 8, 2010, 7:37 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Green Monster, Kelli

Morning friends!  Can you believe its already Thursday?  I love 4 day weeks!  This morning I woke up for an early workout in my home gym.  Today I wanted to focus on legs, abs, and sprints.  I completed the following workout in about 45 minutes

Legs, Abs, Sprints

Warm Up

5 minutes @ 4.0 to 4.5 mph

Legs

1 minute wall sit

1 minute of lunges

30 seconds of squats

Repeat x 2

(total: 5 minutes)

Sprints

1 min @ 4.0 mph

30 secs @ 7.0 mph

1 min @ 4.0 mph

30 secs @ 7.5 mph

1 min @ 4.0 mph

(total: 4 minutes)

Abs

20 seconds crunches

20 seconds push throughs

20 seconds reverse crunch

20 seconds right oblique

20 seconds left oblique

20 seconds crunches

10 seconds bicycle

20 seconds crunches

10 seconds bycycle

20 seconds reverse crunch

(total: 3 minutes)

Repeat Cardio

Repeat Legs

Repeat Cardio

Repeat Abs

Cool Down

5 min @ 4.0 – 3.5 mph

Phew!  It was quite the workout.  My legs felt like jello afterward, but it was a gooooood feeling.  I am really loving having my own gym.  I get to create workouts that incorporate several different areas of fitness without worrying about “hogging” an area of Golds.

After my workout I sat down for a lovely Green Monster.  I made this one with 1 cup almond milk, 2 cups spinach, 1/2 cup frozen mango, vanilla protein powder

Notice that mess in the background?  That brings me to the “In The Middle” aspect of this post.  In light of Caitlin’s recent post where she celebrated being in the middle of a move, I decided to celebrate being in the middle of renovations.  Instead of being stressed about the state of my house, and worrying about how on Earth we are going to get so much done, I am going to celebrate it…

This room will one day be a den.  I picture a room with no TV, over stuffed couches and chairs, books, magazines, and an all together zen feel.  But right now it is in the middle of our renovations.  It has become the “plunk place”.  Everything that is not organized or just not done yet, goes in this room.  We are in the middle of saving for new furniture, and in the middle of creating a calming atmosphere.

This is the living room.  In the middle of being painted.  In the middle of being decorated.  Just in the middle.

One room that is not in the middle of being changed is the three seasons porch.  I am happy to report that, with a recent furniture purchase, this room is very close to being done.

I really love this end table that I found at Pier 1.

Much of the house is in the middle of being turned into our home.  It is being turned into the place I look forward coming to after work, the place I will spend relaxing weekends, and the place I will want to invite friends to for long girls weekends.  This will be the home where (God willing) I will bring my first child.  This will be the home where I celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and everyday life.  So instead of being stressed out about it, I have decided to enjoy the process of turning this 4 bedroom, cape cod style, brick house into my home.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We are 23 yrs in our ‘1st family home’, and this weekend having a garage sale. It is amazing all the stuff we have saved & fun to rummage thru things w/ the memories that go along. Who knew Sean & Erik would enjoy going thru boxes of old McDonald happy meal toys. Its amazing how fast time travels thru life. Enjoy your nesting….

Comment by Laurie

Thanks Laurie!! I alwasy really love your comments 🙂 Good luck with teh garage sale!

P.S. my mom saves all thsoe mcdonalds toys too!

Comment by Kelli




Leave a Reply

