Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Cracking Up by Kelli
July 1, 2010, 10:37 am
Filed under: Bread, Breakfast, Food, Kelli, Pizza

Happy July, everyone!  Can you believe its July?  I sure can’t!  This summer is flying by!  I really just want time to stop or slow down for a little while so I can enjoy the gorgeous weather we have been having in New England lately.

So last week I found out I have a cracked molar.  After experiencing a lot of pain on the left side of my mouth I decided to make a dentist appointment to see what was up.  Turns out one of my fillings had broken and caused my very back left molar to crack in three places (think of a peace sign without them middle piece!).  My appointment to have the tooth fixed was this morning and 3 hours, $600, and some pain later I have a whole back molar again. I really love my dentist.  Dr. Erikson does a fantastic job and he even provides those airplane neck pillows for when you are going to be the chair for a long time!  I was in the chair for close to 3 hours, so I was very grateful for that pillow!

Before heading to the dentist I made some pizza dough for the dinner I have planned for tonight.  I combined 1 cup warm water, 2 Tbsp honey, and active yeast in a bowl and let it sit for 5 minutes.  I then combined the yeast mixture, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 and 1/4 cup all purpose flour, salt and pepper in the Kitchen Aid Mixer (best wedding present EVER)

As it mixed I slowly added about 1/4 cup more of whole wheat flour.  Here is an action shot!  I used the “sport mode” on the husbands camera!

After letting the dough hook do its business for about 5-7 minutes I rubbed olive oil over the whole thing, covered and put in the fridge.  Now it will raise and we will haev homemade pizza for dinner!

While the dough was mixing I decided to make some breakfast.  My dentist appointment was going to go right into my normal morning snack time, and I knew I would not be able to chew for a while after getting the molar fixed.  So I decided to make a protein packed hearty breakfast to keep my full.  I decided on Eggs In A Basket!  This is an old favorite of mine. First you tear a whole in the middle of some whole grain bread and let is toast on the griddle for a little while on both sides.

Then when the bread is somewhat toasted, crack the egg so that the yolk lands in the hole.

I don’t know what it is about this breakfast that I love so much.  It would be easier just to make an over easy egg and throw a piece of bread in the toaster, but this is way more fun.

Enjoy the rest of your Thursday!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

