Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Working It Out by Kelli
June 29, 2010, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Food, Kelli, Workout

Happy end of Tuesday!  I hope you all had a wondrous day.  Mine started out hot and sweaty with a workout in my  home made gym!  Here was my workout…

Warm Up

5 minutes on the treadmill @ 3.5 – 5.5 mph

Arms

Incline bicept curls- 3 sets of 12 with 8lbs weights

Tricept dips – 3 sets of 15 with my own body weight

Cardio

5.5 mph for 1 min

7 mph 45 seconds

5.5 mph 1 min

7 mph 45 seconds

4.0 mph 1.5 minutes

Back

Bent over fly – 3 sets of 12 with 8 lbs weights

Bent over row- 3 sets of 15 with 15 lbs weights

Repeat Previous Cardio

Chest

Chest Press- 3 sets of 10 with 15 lbs

Push ups- 3 sets of 10

Repeat Previous Cardio

Lunges and squats

8 minute abs video

COOL DOWN AND STRETCHHHH!

The whole workout took me just over an hour.  When I was done I was sweaty and ready to dig into a delicious protein filled breakfast…

1 egg, 1 egg white scrambled with mushrooms and onions and hot sauce.  All served with a side of grapes.  My meal was enjoyed out on my back patio, which is quickly becoming my favorite place to enjoy breakfast while looking at my new back yard.

I have really been trying to cook healthy dinners that both the husband and myself like.  He is a pretty picky eater so it has been quite a challenge.  My new goal is to cook an actual dinner (find a recipe, shop for specific ingredients, etc.) twice a week.  If it is a dinner the husband likes he will be able to take for lunch the next day as well.  I will get him to eat healthier and save money!  WOOHOO!  Another goal I have is to spend $150 a week or less on ALL food.  That means groceries, dinners out, and I am even including lunches in that number.  I am confident that by planning ahead and shopping more efficiently I will be able to achieve this goal 🙂

Do any of you have money-for-food budgets?  How do you stick to them??

Dinner was a meal that is quick, easy, delicious, and healthy (4 of my all time favorite words!).

I mix broccoli, walnuts, some parmesan cheese, and about 2 Tbsp olive oil in a casserole dish and roast everything for about 30 minutes.  The broccoli comes out nice and crispy, the walnuts warm, and the cheese melted.  Serve over pasta or brown rice and you have quite a meal 🙂

Delicious, and best of all, MEAT FREE!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am moving in with my boyfriend on August 1st and I have a feeling the weekly grocery budget will need some tweaking. Ive never had to buy for someone else or cook recipes for someone else so Im a little nervous. If you come across tips along the way, I’d love to hear them 🙂

Comment by Lisa (I'm an Okie)

Hi Lisa! The best thing I can tell you is to PLAN PLAN PLAN! We have been living together for almost 2 years now and I am just getting the hang of shopping and cooking healthy meals for two! Hopefully it wont take you as long as it took me!

Comment by Kelli




Leave a Reply

