Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Just Call Me… Master? by Katie
June 28, 2010, 2:14 pm
Filed under: Katie

Let’s just cut to the chase:  I defended my master’s thesis last Wednesday afternoon and passed!!! Then I spent my weekend celebrating and catching up on sleep and getting situated at my aunt’s house. I went from a very rigid schedule to almost zero schedule in the last few days!

If you’re not familiar with what a “defense” entails, here is a little recap. First, I forked over a written thesis (160 pages with appendices, what’s up?!) about a week ahead of time to my committee- a.k.a. the professors that decide my fate.  Then at the defense, I gave a short summary presentation- mainly on my results- and a bunch of professors ask questions.  It took about 2 hours total.  Sometimes this can get ugly, though I really only faced one question I could not answer as hard as I tried.  After that, they ask me to step outside and the committee discusses my research, my presentation, my results, etc.  Finally, after what seemed like forever, my advisor stepped out to shake my hand and congratulate me on passing! [Then, way too many people bought me way too many drinks.  Thursday was a rough, rough day.]

I’ll have my official degree in hand in a few weeks but since I passed, I’m golden! Now, I’m working on incorporating the committee’s suggestions into my written version to have it officially bound.  I have to organize my files and get together written instructions on what I did so other people can follow my footsteps.  Finally, I am in the process of submitting a paper to a science journal to be published!  This could take months of reviews and back-and-forth with editors.

So for now I’m living with my (ex-common-law-step) aunt and enjoying Denver for the month of July! I’m job hunting all over the place and will drive cross-country to return to upstate NY later this summer.  Basically, my life went from a strict marathon training and thesis work schedule to an open-ended schedule.  I’ll get a blogging rhythm down soon enough!

I just caught up on my Google reader and I’ll become a commenter-extraordinaire again.  What’s the most exciting thing you’ve accomplished this summer??

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that sounds horribly stressful! Glad you did it and it turned out well. Seems like all your prep helped. Whats your degree in?!

Comment by lisaou11

YAY! Thanks, me too. It was a stressful week, I’m glad I put blogging aside to make it less stressful. But I missed reading especially! My degree is in chemical/biological engineer. Basically I want to go into the biotech sector. Thanks again! -Katie

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

CONGRATS!!! That is no easy feat! You must be so relieved and proud!! YAY!

Comment by Abby

So very relieved! Thank you so much!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Congrats! While you’re in Denver we should have a blogger happy hour to celebrate!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack




Leave a Reply

