Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Parmesan Panko Chix by Katie
June 19, 2010, 12:41 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie

One of the best parts of house sitting has been a full, big kitchen all to myself! Well John too, but who am I kidding, he’s not enjoying it nearly as much as I am.  After working and writing and sitting all day, I look forward to making dinner.  I like to cook and it gives me time away from the thesis.

I know I saw a recipe for this on a blog last week but I never bookmarked it so my thanks to whoever gave me this delicious idea: parmesan-panko crusted chicken.

I took a chicken breast, dipped it in a beaten egg, dipped it into a 1/2 panko (or breadcrumb) & 1/2 parmesan mixture, and into the oven.  Thirty minutes at 400* and yum!

With wild rice and fresh (local) asparagus.  Once the chicken was in the oven and the rice was cooking, I set the timer and cooked the asparagus in a bit of olive oil and garlic for the last 10 minutes.  Simple and probably only about 15 minutes of “work.”

The asparagus was perfect in flavor and texture but I’m not sure I washed it well enough… we both noticed some grittiness in the flowery ends.  I’m thinking may or may not have been dirt :/ .  At least I know that it was dirt without pesticides and junk?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

AHHH I sooo wish I wasn’t allergic to cheese…that meal looks amazing!!

Have a great weekend!!

-Laur

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

Allergic to cheese?! Terrible. A good variation on this… dip the chicken in some honey mustard, then in the panko or breadcrumbs and bake. I’ll be writing away on the thesis… hope yours is going well!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Katie, Just had a chance to read about marathon. Of course tears welling up thru the whole thing (even had to read a few things over). I’m just so proud of you & your focus. Makes me realize how much I miss you not being here! Got lots more to say but don’t want to embarrass you & myself! Can’t wait to see you…

Comment by laurie




Leave a Reply

