Two Lives, One Lifestyle


It’s The Thesis’ Fault! by Katie
June 17, 2010, 11:44 pm
Filed under: Katie, Lunch, Motivation, Nutrition, Salad, Wine

Well, well, well look what the cat dragged in.  I’m here! Promise!  So Kelli and I are both having a big, milestone-y month leaving our poor blog in the dust.  Both of us ran our first marathon, Kelli bought her first house and I’m defending my first master’s thesis next week (hope it’s my only one).  Aw, look at us getting all growed up.

My computer has become a thesis addict, forgoing any normal blog/twitter/facebook activity.  It took John’s much nicer, newer, faster computer down with it.

This evening at 6 PM I handed over my first draft!  Thesis 1.0 is in the house!  I’m giving myself a break for the evening but I’ll be back at it tomorrow: editing, improving, and doing some last minute statistics (which is the best part of science….no).   I promptly sighed a sigh, drove the hour back to Denver, ate Chipotle, and poured a glass of wine.

It’s not a sparkling variety per se but has a bit of fizzy to it.  I like it for a schweaty summer night.

In terms of the thesis-ing, it’s the best I’ve ever planned for and handled anything close to this magnitude.  There have been no nights later than midnight (though I have been up at 5 or 6), no tears, no breakdowns, and no panic modes.  When I started regretting the extra day in San Diego and playing shoulda woulda coulda, I stopped myself and thought some positive thoughts about how it was in the past and anxiety over it now would not help the past. This is big for me… ask any of my closest friends or mom.   Let’s see how the next week goes before I toot my horn too much.

Last Saturday, I prepared for the week, went to the farmer’s market, and got good-for-me snacky food ready.

In.Love. All Coloradans, try it now!

I’ve been sticking with lots of vegetables and light meals/lots of snacks to keep myself from getting post-lunch sleepiness.  Plus, I just like to graze all day when I’m working at “home” (John and I are house- and dog-sitting for some friends this week).

Local greens, local tomato, local goat cheese!  Plus some Italian dressing and turkey.

Hm, maybe sticking to all these nice, healthy eats has something to do with my focus and low stress levels?  Maybe!

I think these two and their relaxed attitudes have helped me out too.

Now I’m going to go relax on the couch like this and go to bed EARLY!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OMG love the last doggie photo!! I have noosa waiting in the fridge for me when I get back to C-rado. Just tried the mango and thought it was really good too. When is your thesis over? I forget!! LOve your attitude about your thesis…staying calm is the best approach although SO hard! GOOd luck!

Comment by Ashley

I defend on Wednesday… and then my committee will grill me and try to make me nervous and all that. I’ll have to edit after they get done with me, and it depends on what they critique for how long it will take to edit! But the hardest part will be over Wednesday around 4 PM!!!!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

