Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Antsy, Hungry, Sad: A Taper Story by Katie
May 27, 2010, 9:43 pm
Filed under: Burger, Cravings, Katie, Marathon

I didn’t believe it when the Team in Training coaches told us that we would feel antsy during taper.   But it’s happening.  I ran for 30 minutes this morning and then after work, I really wanted to run!  I’m restraining myself based on all sorts of recommendations.

With moving, finishing a thesis, and preparing for the marathon, my stress levels are… not low.  I’ve cried a few times this week over really dumb things.  Point #2 in our taper info: you might feel depressed with the drastic reduction in exercise (exercise=endorphins).  Yes.  Why are they all so right?!  Deep breath.

Also, I would really like a cheeseburger now. (Hunger does not automatically adjust to the lower activity level but I’m obviously eating as I’m hungry.  There is a good chance of slight weight increases during these 2 weeks my sources say.)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Aw, I’m sorry…I didn’t realize that there were such emotional ties to exercise. I hope you find some other way to raise those happy endorphins!

Comment by sophia

I think running really helped me when I was really anxious/depressed a few years ago… with the really high mileage, I’m noticing the cutback though on my moods!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

