Two Lives, One Lifestyle


A Bit Mental by Katie
May 26, 2010, 1:11 pm
Filed under: Katie, Marathon, Motivation, Run

Last night at track practice, our coach invited a professional runner motivational speaker.

She talked about visualization and positive thinking as keys for any run, though especially long distance where the mental factor is key to a successful race.  Positive begets positive.  I think this is true for many if not all areas of life but especially for a physical task. I mean, it’s almost always easier to walk than run and I can stop at any time but… well, why?! If I don’t need to!

IMG_1539

One tip I liked was to have a few time goals in mind.  First, the time that would happen if all the stars aligned, you were well rested and at race pace, there were no injuries, and you hydrated and fueled, etc.  The second goal should be training pace, which is technically slower than race pace.  If it’s windy or maybe a knee is acting up but not quite hurt, this might be more reasonable.  Last, a “just finish” goal, in case the weather is way beyond any training conditions or you’re sick or injured.

IMG_1351

Another point she touched on is to stay in the moment.  Try not to think about after the race, or the next 20 miles ahead (yikes).  If it’s hard to focus, then count something quicker than miles- like number of spectators drinking beers!

IMG_1329

My stepdad taught me to “look at where I want to go and not at the rocks I don’t want to hit” when mountain biking, and I think that’s a good carryover in terms of running: “think of what you want to do, not what you don’t want to do.”  Don’t think about walking (unless of course your strategy is run/walk!), don’t think about how you might puke, don’t think about how you’re bad at hills.

Boulder!! 079

Oh and how she ended this talk?  Just casually mentioning that she was one of the first women pushing to allow women to run in marathons.  I didn’t realize women were barely allowed in any marathons until the late 70s and a women’s marathon event was not added to the Olympics until 1984!! That’s not that long ago!  My personal favorite reason that women were banned?  Their uterus might fall out on those long runs!  Or it means we want to be men.  Riiiiiight.

joan_benoit_231701aJoan Benoit winning the 1st Olympic Women’s Marathon

Jane Welzel, our speaker, was a professional marathon runner for years and now has a sports psychology practice, specializing in treating athletes with eating disorders. The article is true, she still does Tuesday night track workouts in Fort Collins— I’ve been there the last few months!  She is the 4th from the left, and this is not my running group!

running_Jane Source

Her and her sister used to travel all over the country to find marathons they were allowed to run in.  Her sister helped organize a fundraiser for an all-women half-marathon in Maine called “One Lucky Man” (don’t google that phrase, I warned you).  Any man that wants to run pays $10 to enter a lottery and one is selected to run with all women!  Once I move back to the east coast I want to participate, especially if I’m in Boston.

Learning all the history about women’s running made me want to run more. Another reason to cross that finish line!  What motivates you?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Loved this post! Reading about running definitely helps motivate me..the book Born To Run was really inspirational to me. Can’t wait to get back to it!

Comment by Ashley

K…you make me so proud. As I read this entry I’m smiling w/ tears running down my face.

It’s a good thing I’m not going to the marathon w/ everyone ’cause I’d be the crazy lady @ the finish line sobbing!!!

Comment by laurie




Leave a Reply

