Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Snooze by Katie
May 25, 2010, 12:46 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Coffee, Eggs, Katie

I’ve been hoping to try Snooze for over a year now.  Every review from media to friends has sung high praises, and what initially caught my eye was the pancake flights (like a wine flight, with pancakes…. yes, I know!).  The Denver locations are notoriously crowded though- there are tales of up to two hour waits.

Finally, after much build-up, I tried Snooze at the newest location in Fort Collins.  It was perfectly timed following a 2 hour run and an ice bath.  Overindulgence, yes please!

Since I’m giving up the drink for 2 weeks prior to the marathon, I ordered a Bellini- peach puree and sparkling wine.    Behind my lovely tall glass is John’s beer-mosa.  Orange juice and New Belgium beer.  Don’t be skeptical! It was delicious, and possibly better than a mimosa (or I’m just sick of mimosas after bottomless varieties last weekend).

I ordered the Barbacoa Benny for breakfast:

Sope Style” with slow roasted, shredded Niman Ranch Beef atop our house black beans and homemade masa cakes plus poached eggs, smoked cheddar hollandaise, cotija cheese & salsa fresca.

I loved the masa cakes and smoky, tender meat.  The hashbrown cake was equally delicious- soft on the inside and crispy on the outside, without much greasiness.

And perfectly poached eggs.  Or should I say egg.

A funny thing happened when I poked my fork into the second egg.  It was hard.  Hard as an egg shell.  And it wasn’t just a little piece, nope, it was a half of an intact egg shell.  Obviously I called over the waitress and basically showed her the shell to which she basically said “WTF!?” and whisked it away to the kitchen.  She apologized, brought a new Benedict, and took it off the bill.  I was honestly confused and laughing more than grossed out.  I mean, an egg shell is totally less gross than a clump of hair or band-aid or cockroach.

Then the manager came to apologize and thank me for being so gracious. Then the chef came out and apologized and gave us 2 free meal cards! We did go back on Sunday morning, and they covered everything including John’s drink and my coffee (also try the coffee by the way), plus the sample pancakes we ordered.  I suggest the strawberry rhubarb.  Since I was really not upset, it was an amazing show of overwhelmingly good customer service in my opinion.

All in all, I want to go back again to try everything (hint, hint CO bloggers).  Have you ever found something nasty or wrong with your meal at a restaurant?  Did they do a good job of apologizing and replacing your food?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW! That looks awesome!!

Comment by Kelly

My mom found an employee’s nametag in her salad at Wendy’s once. They did a terrible job of even pretending to care.

I’ve been to Snooze once and I’d love to go again! I didn’t see the Beermosa on the menu at the Denver one we went to…I’m sure my husband would be a fan!

Comment by Emily

Not gonna get that kind of food East side! Ratio of beer mimosas?

Comment by laurie

that benedict. yum.

Comment by Madelyn




Leave a Reply

