Two Lives, One Lifestyle


The Jig’s Up by Katie
May 21, 2010, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Family, Katie, Motivation, Playlist

I have a little running music secret.  When I really need that extra push to hit a good running pace, do you know what I listen to?  Irish dancing music. Jigs, reels, all of it! Plus some non-traditional stuff.  I’ve actually avoided including it on lists of great workout songs because well, if anyone else (other than my sister) listens to this to run, I would love to know.

Some of my favorites:

  • “Fiddling Ladies” by The Chieftains (Especially 3:15 and on, I ran a quarter mile at under a 7 minute pace listening to the end of the song. Quite fittingly, it was at a St. Pat’s 5 miler.)
  • “Lord of the Dance” by Irish Ceili Band (slow beginning, fast forward)
  • “The Night That Patty Murphy Died” by Great Big Sea
  • “Irish Pub Song” by Flogging Molly
  • “Amazing Grace” by Dropkick Murphys

I must say that my mom raised us listening to this stuff and bagpipes and fiddles don’t make my ears bleed, though some people hate them.

Your legs just want to move in a happy jig when you listen to this music! Or maybe it’s just years of Irish dancing.  Okay, someone try it and let me know.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So glad you posted this!! I’m SOOOO BORED with my current running music!!!

Good luck writing too girl!!! XOXOX

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

haha too cute! good music can get that last push in

Comment by Katherine: What About Summer?

HAHAHAHA. I am dieing right now!! You love irish music!!! I need to download that song about Whiskey and Beer for one of the last miles of the race.

Comment by Kelli




Leave a Reply

