Two Lives, One Lifestyle


French Toast Sandwich by Katie
May 19, 2010, 11:40 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Katie

My favorite breakfast growing up was French toast.  My mom said she craved it and ate it nonstop when she was pregnant with me, which I always found pretty interesting.  Eventually, I determined it was not exactly a balanced breakfast so it fell to the wayside.  Then a few weeks ago, Caitlin made a delicious non-syrup-doused version I’d had on my mind ever since.

IMG_1784

I changed it up just a bit and added peanut butter and made the whole thing into a sandwich.  I folded it up in foil since it was kind of flimsy and

  • Little pat of butter
  • 2 (small) slices of wheat bread
  • 1 egg
  • 3 TBSP unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • cinnamon + nutmeg
  • 1/2 a banana
  • peanut butter

IMG_1786

  1. Dip the bread in egg and milk (obv)
  2. Slice and caramelize the banana (cook it till browned)
  3. Spread PB on one slice, smoosh banana on the other
  4. Make a sandwich (take a picture if your camera doesn’t die)

From my view, this is a pretty balanced breakfast: carbs, protein, fruit, healthy fats.  What’s not to love?  I’ll admit that buttery, syrupy French toast is incredible but not the best for everyday unless you love a mid-morning sugar crash.  All morning I kept dreaming about how delicious my breakfast was… I want it again!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

