Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Home Again by Kelli
May 15, 2010, 7:19 am
Filed under: Kelli

Hey bloggies.  Stephen and I ventured to Central PA last night after our respective work days were over so we could attend one of my best friends weddings.  I am feeling very reflective for many reasons this morning…  so bear with me…

Stacie (the girl who is getting married today) was my best friend from the day she was born (she is 3 months younger than me).  Our Mom’s were very good friends, and when they were together so were we.  Stacie and I almost never left each others side.  Our families went on vacations together every summer to Ocean City, MD and we spent every weekend and summer night sleeping at each others houses.  Stacie’s whole family lived on the same street (what used to be a hundreds of acre’s farm that he Grandfather had worked on and eventually owned)  All along the street were very dense woods that we spent most of our summer afternoons in.  When we were littler, we would dress up like “Indian Princesses” (ie: Native American) and play in the woods for HOURS, pretending that we were looking for our Indian families.  I do not think I have a single childhood memory that does not involve this lady SOME how.  We went to the same pre-school, elementary school, middle school, and high school together.  We remained just as close as those early days right up until high school.  Unfortunately, we drifted apart, as friends tend to do, in the second or third year of high school.  I am not sure what triggered said drifting, but it is one of my biggest regrets because I lost a real companion.  After high school we went to our respective colleges where we met amazing friends.  One of the reasons I love my friendship with Stacie so much is because whenever we see or talk to each other, whether its been months or even a year since we last spoke, we have this uncanny ability to pick up right where we left off.  It is never awkward with Stacie and me, and I really value that.

When it came time to choose people to be my bridesmaids, Stacie was always in the back of my mind.  Looking back, I wish I would have asked her to be in my wedding.  It seems I have a lot of regrets when it comes to Stacie and how our friendship evolved, that I never knew I had until I got the “Save The Date” card for her wedding.

Another reason I am reflective this morning is because of one key person who will not be at the wedding today.  Stacie’s older brother, Jeremy, passed away when we were in 9th grade.  Maybe this was the start of our drifting apart because I was truly not mature enough to handle such an unbelievable tragedy at 15 years old, let alone be there for someone in the emotional way they needed.  I am so heartbroken that Jeremy will not be there today to see his little sister walk down the aisle, and even more heartbroken when I think of the other major life events that he missed and will miss.  He never got to see Stacie graduate from high school or college, never got to meet the man she will marry today, and will never meet any future children that Stacie may have.

But luckily, today is not about Jeremy and his untimely death.  Today is about Stacie and Tom (who I LOVE) getting married in the same church her parents did back in 1979 (the same church I was married in back in July 2008!).  It’s about Stacie and Tom starting their life together and getting to celebrate their love with family and friends surrounding them.

Well I am off to complete my schedule 10 mile run with my Dad.  The crazy thing is I have NEVER in my life been in as good or better shape than my Dad.  He is an amazing athlete and always seems to be on top of his game.  Last time I was home we completed a 7.5 mile run together and I realized that for the first time in my life I wasn’t huffing and puffing behind him!  I was huffing and puffing BESIDE him!  It was a pretty cool feeling 🙂 I hope you all have a great weekend!  I will be back with pictures and such later this weekend 🙂

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s so sad about Stacie and her brother. But you’re right, it’s a day for celebrating!

Question: where in Central PA? I’m from central PA! Altoona area! 🙂

Comment by Abby

Hi Abby!! I grew up in Danville!! I had a lot of friends who went to Penn State Altoona for college! Are you still in Central PA?

Comment by Kelli

Congrats to Stacie and TOm…and that she would have her moment of joy, despite the past tragedy. That is so touching that you guys have such a strong bond like that…I have a few friends like that too, and it is SUCH a precious, blessed thing to have.

Comment by sophia




Leave a Reply

