Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Moving = Training by Kelli
May 14, 2010, 1:55 pm
Filed under: Kelli, Run, Workout

Hi friends 🙂  I hope you have been having a wonderful week!!!  It has really flown by for me, I can’t believe it’s almost Friday!!

Remember that 18 mile run I posted about on Saturday?   I ended up having to do it on the spinning apparatus of death treadmill.  Why would I subject myself to this?  Well it was better than getting struck by lightning  by running in the killer thunderstorms that were in the Hartford area.  It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be (thank God, because I was expecting the worst).  Mostly because I just put a towel over the machine and ran.  I didn’t have to constantly look down and see if I was keeping a consistent pace, and nothing beeped every time I ran another mile.  Also, thanks to some very trashy celeb gossip and reality TV shows, the time seemed to pass by quickly for the first 15 miles.  It was the last 3 miles that killed me! I remember looking down and thinking “Wow!  I only have a 5K left in this long run!”.  How hard is a 5K!?  Anyone can finish a 5K!  That was also around the time my knees completely tightened up. With each step I felt like someone was literally jabbing my knees with an ice pic right below my knee cap.  The good news is I made it through the 18 miles and lived to tell the tale 🙂

The bad news is that since the 18 mile escapade I have barely run.  That run took SO much out of me.  I have set out to run a few times, and ended up walking a lot, or not finishing.  My body was YELLING at me to just stop moving, so I listened.  I have considered myself to be in “active” recovery this past week.  Tomorrow I have a short (short???) 10 mile run that I am really looking forward to!  But for now, I will consider packing up our apartment in preparation for the big move in 2 weeks as my training 🙂

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow congrats on the 18 mile run… and on a treadmill to boot. That’s some mental stamina you got there, girlie. I am like you, the last couple of miles always seem to just DRAG by, whether on a treadmill or outside. Good luck with your 10-miler tomorrow.

Comment by elizathon




Leave a Reply

