Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Banana Oatmeal Cookies by Katie
May 14, 2010, 4:00 pm
Filed under: Baking, Cookies, Dessert, Katie

Packing to move is not fun- you know how you start looking around like “oh it won’t be so bad!” and then the night before you’re like “what IS this stuff? why did I keep every magazine I’ve bought in 2 years!?”  For once, I’m ahead of the game and started packing about 3 weeks before I move for this reason.

One night my brain was bleeding from reading about Markov Chain Statistical Methods for Biological Applications so I needed a more mindless activity- going through all my magazines to tear out all the recipes I want to make someday.

I’m attempting to slowly eat everything in my kitchen rather than hauling it around with me (I’ll be a bit of a nomad for the next month) and the extra brown banana on my counter and an excessive amount of oats beckned as soon as I ripped “Banana-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies” out of Cooking Light, July 2009.

Banana-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 medium ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. softened butter
  • 1/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 5.6 oz. (1 1/4 c.) all-purpose flour (I used 1 c. white, 1/4 c. wheat)
  • 2 c. oats
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips (exactly the amount I had left in the bag!)

Using a mixer on medium speed, beat together the first 5 ingredients in a large bowl until smooth, then add the egg.  In a different bowl, mix the dry ingredients and then add the dry mixture to the banana mixture.  Drop onto a cookie sheet, spacing batter 2 inches apart, and bake for 18 minutes (um, set the timer for less than this… or maybe that’s just at altitude) at 350°F.   Makes about 12 cookies, or more if you can’t make consistent cookie shapes…

The banana helps add sweetness (so less added sugar) and keeps the cookies very moist, but just a touch of banana flavor.  They are a bit dense and not my favorite cookie, but still pretty tasty.  I’ve been refueling with one or two after my runs this week.

Just wanted to through a running respite in there for everyone who started reading for the food ;).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Confession…I HATE chocolate in cookies! WHAT?! I know…these look amazing (minus the chocolate chips!) Have a great great weekend honey!

Comment by Kelly

mmm those cookies look yummy! I do the same thing with magazines, I have so much fun going through them and imagining a lot of delicious meals 🙂

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

I haven’t made cookies in awhile…I need to get on that! Hmm, I missed that you are moving…I thought I caught up on your posts? To Denver?

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

