Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Powerful by Katie
May 13, 2010, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Katie, Marathon, Motivation, Run

That is how I would describe my run today: powerful.  I wasn’t particularly looking forward to or dreading the 50 minute run scheduled for today.  It was just there.  Since I have 21 miles coming up on Saturday (OMG) , I decided to go with whatever pace felt good.  Promising myself to not to look at Garmy until mile 1 (it makes a God awful beeepeeepeeep noise) and just set into a nice comfy pace I waited to check my pace until mile 2… sub-9:00 miles?  I don’t know what was up with my body today but I had a hard time slowing myself down.  But I didn’t feel like I was going fast. Maybe this just means I’m getting faster?  5.6 negative split miles later… woo woo, as my good friend would say (happy birthday bunny)!!

[These pictures have nothing to do with the text by the way, I’m just in a good mood and feel like pretty pictures okay?]

Since I didn’t feel like I was pushing- I was able to say a nice hi how are you? etc. to all the people I passed- I just let my body do what it wanted.

What it wanted was an awesome-for-me pace.  Like, what a great pace for the marathon would be.  A little faster pace than what I ran the 13 miler at two weeks ago.

It wasn’t just the pace though.  It was the way I felt on top of my game.  All week my runs have been “the best runs ever” but tonight I just did not want to stop at 50 minutes.  I wanted to run and run and run!  I’m really hoping this attitude carries me through a good portion of the 21 miler.  Though I’m not blindly optimistic to think that won’t be a huge struggle at points.

Marathon training has had it’s ups and downs and just last week I was describing running as becoming a chore.  Another thing on the “to-do” list.  Saturday was the hardest run I’ve ever had in my life and it was less than a mile further than I went tonight.  This week though, running is giving me the pleasure it did before training.  The whole reason I wanted to run a marathon- ’cause I LOVED running.

Okay now if you’re still reading, you probably think I’m nuts, raving about running.  I’m writing this fresh out of a freezing cold shower so I’m probably seriously high on endorphins.   Now I definitely lost readers.   Ice baths are much preferred to ice showers by the way.  Anyway, if you are new to running or another activity, I swear you will have a moment like this sometime.  Or maybe you have.

Have you ever had a workout that makes you feel powerful?  What was it?  Any particular reason why that workout did it for you?  I was really digging my music tonight but the weather was great, I’ve been sleeping well, and avoiding certain stomach-ache-inducing foods too.  Who knows, could have been anything, I won’t question it!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay for having such a great run tonight! I have definitely had runs that have made me feel powerful. It’s the best when you just want to run and run and run and it’s so effortless. I love that feeling! And I love that you posted pretty pictures just because you’re happy 🙂

Comment by Meg @ Be Fit Be Full

Nice, sub 9 minute miles for 50 minutes. I think I would end up with shin splints like the last time I had a pace even close to 9 minute miles.

Comment by sweatingoutdoors

Running makes me feel powerful. Almost every time..so thanks for making me race with you! But especially when I run on trails through the nature preserve at school. When I run on trails and have to jump over obstacles and dodge tree branches and fight to keep my balance on the unpredictable terrain…that is when I really feel powerful. That is when I feel bad ass. That is when I feel like a warrior….really…I imagine i am like a warrior princess like Mulan running as fats as I can to escape my old life…haha…its silly, but its fun…and thats when i really feel like the most pwerful, kick ass warrior of all time

Comment by Madelyn

madelyn…when I was a little girl we had land in Springwater, your comment about feeling like a warrior princess running to escape, OMG, that is just what I did. Only I was a indian girl, and when we left for the city, I would look out the car window and see myself, as the indian girl, running thru the fields along side the car. Genetics? I must have been about 9 yrs old. Daisy and I have been bushwacking thru the park and that little girl is back! Power to all us women warriors!

Comment by laurie

that’s so awesome! when i used to run i would get this great tired/powerful feeling, and i loved it! now that i walk i do still feel tired, but i get that powerful feeling from strength training 🙂

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

