Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Running in Snow… In May by Katie
May 12, 2010, 12:12 am
Filed under: Dinner, Katie, Run, Speed Work, Wine

On Sunday, my aunt had a mini heart attack when I mentioned I hadn’t gotten new shoes during training.  It was a good point- especially since I’ve suddenly had knee pain for the last two weeks.  Same model, new (awesome) color… and there goes 5 months of not using my credit card, dang!  But protecting my knees is a worthwhile investment.

IMG_1679

I tried them out today at a track workout with Team in Training people: 400 meters (1 lap) marathon pace/ 400 meters 5k-ish pace.  For 5 miles, or 20 laps.  I almost didn’t go due to the weather forecast but very glad I made it. It’s incredible how fast and easy these miles flew by compared to my run last Saturday.

Shoe report: No blisters, and miraculously, NO knee pain!!

Stomach report: I’ve avoided dairy and spicy food the past two days since I knew track would be hard.  My stomach didn’t hurt at ALL.

Weather report:

IMG_1686

That disgusting picture was too funny not to show.  Something looks really disproportionate to me.  Anyway, if it weren’t for my hat (um by the way, running with a hat or visor is genius= tunnel vision to keep focused), I’d have mascara streaming down my face.

During the run it rained, got really windy, started to hail, went back to rain whipping in my face, started to wet snow, hail, and so forth.  I won’t lie- 5 miles in that shiz at a 8:45 average, I feel kind of running-bad-ass.

I immediately stripped down (in my car, bad weather is really good for foggy windows) and put on a fleece and sweat pants.  No idea how I had the foresight to bring more clothes but saved me since I had to stop for a few groceries.  And also some wine I suddenly felt I deserved.

IMG_1688

A hot shower, a ton of water, cozy sweats, stir-fry, and a glass of wine later.. I’m a new woman!

IMG_1693

I’m trying to use up all the food in my cupboard and brown rice is something I have a lot of.  What goes with rice?  Stir-fries are so nice and easy: throw whatever vegetables I have on hand in a big frying pan or wok, add tamari/soy sauce/ peanut sauce/ teriyaki sauce, cook meat in another pan (beef in the top photo, chicken in the one below), and throw it all together to finish cooking.

IMG_1639

Alright, I’m going to pretend I didn’t just see my car covered in snow (real) and dream of being on a beach!

Does anyone have a delicious kidney bean recipe (I have more than one can to use)?

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ughhhh what is up with this weather!! We got snow too. Sick!!

New shoes are very cute. You def needed them!! Gotta protect your joints!

Comment by savoringsarah

i love kidney beans in chili, but caitlin at healthy tipping point has a good one here: http://www.healthytippingpoint.com/recipes/lunches-and-dinners…it’s the bean and olive dip 🙂

how INSANE is this weather?!?!?!

Comment by Heather

My favorite use of Kidney beans is in Magic soup 🙂

That weather is nuts! I also had to get new shoes mid-training onces (or actually like 2 weeks before my marathon). If you’re smart and break them in right then you should be good-to-go 🙂 And the wet weather probably helped break them in more.

Ummm…Long run + water + rest + stir-fry + wine sounds like an AMAZING day to me!!!

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

Glad your shoes work! And good call avoiding dairy and mexican! I have to avoid the same things…or bad things happen! reallllly bad things!

Comment by Abby

Team in Training has been telling us to get new shoes for weeks now…I have to hold out until Saturday (the 15th, naturally!) but I’m hoping it cures the sudden foot pain I’ve been experiencing…San Diego is so close! Are you getting excited?!

I love me some kidney bean tacos, just made them the other night.

Comment by Maura

I definitely think it will help!! I was almost about to call a PT because of my knees, it was seriously like a miraculous recovery. Same with the shin pain I was having. Phew! I’m excited but really nervous too. Hoping for a good run this weekend!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

