Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Party Platter by Katie
May 3, 2010, 10:10 am
Filed under: Katie, Salad, Snacks

Last night, I went to a BBQ with a bunch of the grad students in my office.  Between all the guys (it is engineering grad school, I’m very outnumbered), I knew there would be meat, cheesy potatoes, meat, potato salad, pasta salad, and a ton of dessert.  So I added a little green to our lives. PS- The brisket and flan were indreddddible!

IMG_1595

A huge salad with Romaine, spinach, red pepper, celery, carrots, grape tomatoes, and cukes.  Look at all those gorgeous colors!  Let’s just say I’ll be eating this all week.  A few people were really happy to see a big salad but not everyone ;).  I made a vinaigrette to go with it too.

  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup white wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp agave
  • Italian seasoning- oregano, garlic, rosemary
  • S+P

IMG_1597

Since I knew my salad might be looked at with some trepidation, I brought a sausage dip too.  I made this at grad student Thanksgiving and it was devoured.  I warn you, it’s not the prettiest picture.

IMG_1599

But I promise it will be a party hit (unless it is a party of vegetarians).  It’s a really simple recipe too, with credit to do my friend Emily:

  • 16 oz. breakfast sausage: browned, drained, crumbled
  • 1 10 oz. can of Rotelle (or chopped tomatoes w/ chilies)
  • 1 package of cream cheese, softened

It’s good to let it sit for a little bit prior to serving so all the zippy flavors mingle.  I served it with some tortilla chips and celery sticks but any dip scooper works just fine.

What’s your signature party dish?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

yum…i’ll take the dip and the salad minus cucumber. please and thank you 🙂

Comment by Heather

I love the description of “zippy flavors” It sounds so good!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

Just came across your blog! I love taking a “healthified” 7 layer dip to parties. Or hummus & veggies/crackers!

Comment by Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries

Healthified 7 layer dip sounds up my alley…. what do you use???

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I bring cookies!…and then I eat them all. Yea, I’m THAT girl! 🙂

Comment by abbynormally




Leave a Reply

