Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Shape Up RI Half Marathon Race Recap by Kelli
May 2, 2010, 8:02 pm
Filed under: Half Marathon, Kelli, Races

Hi bloggies!  I hope you had a wonderful Sunday!  Mine was VERY active, to say the least!  This morning I ran the Shape Up RI Half Marathon in Providence, RI.  Its feels crazy to say, but 13.1 miles flew by and I felt great the whole time.  I tried GU for fuel during this race and it worked really well!  Here is a race recap for you…

The day started at 4:30 AM when my alarm went off.  Boo early wake up.  But yay for an early race the cool weather before the sun came out!  I took a quick shower and had a breakfast of a whole wheat bagel, peanut butter, and a banana.  Stephen and I left our apartment at 5:30 and headed for Providence.  It was about an hour and 45 minute drive to the race, and the husband was nice enough to drive me!

Here I am standing in front of the Providence Place Mall.  Seriously, this is the biggest mall I have ever been in!  Huge JCrew, I almost had a clothes-gasm the first time I was in it!

Stretching it out

At the start line ready to go!

The race started and went a little something like this…

Mile 1: 10:49.  Felt great!!  I love race starts!

Mile 2: 11:24.  Slowed myself down a bit, trying not to overdo it from the excitement!

Mile 3: 11:21.  Fell into a nice pace between 11-11:30 minute miles.  Feeling good!

Mile 4: 11:24.  First GU packet consumed at the water stop.  Gagged a bit, but I was pleasantly surprised at how fast it worked and how effective they really are.  This was a point where we were running through a nice park that had a separate walking path.  I saw a woman walking who was almost bald.  Her shirt said “I Beat Cancer.  What have you done this year?” I then realized her hair must have been growing back from chemo treatments.  It was a really powerful message and carried me through the next few miles!

Mile 5: 11:29.  Tick tock on the clock but the party don’t stop… Loving the Kesha album that was playing on my ipod!

Mile 6:11:02.  Hit a great stride/second wind.  Jammin out and talking to all the people around me.  We were going by some beautiful old New England housed at this point too.  A lot of people were out in their yards cheering us on!

Mile 7: 11:04.  Still feeling great, but I could start to see a hill up ahead…

Mile 8: 11:29.  HILL!!!

Mile 9: 11:22.  Recovering from the mile 8 massive hill.  I also consumed my second GU packet at this point and started to feel great again

Mile 10: 11:10.  Your love is my drug… Seriously download this album if you are a runner.  The beat is awesome.

Mile 11: 11:41.  Not sure what happened.  I was chatting with someone, and when I looked at my watch I was surprised at my slower pace.  Oh well!  I made a new friend!

Mile 12: 11:20.  Starting to feel some cramps in my knees.  I took a bag of sport beans from an aid station.

Mile 13: 11:21.  Still so choked up.The last half mile going into the finish line was along the water and was dedicated to Team In Training.  There were posters with survivors pictures, and pictures that were in memory of someone who had passed away from cancer.  I got REALLY choked up at one point and thought I was going to burst into tears.  It really hit me at this point WHY I’m raising money for Team In Training.

Mile 13.1: 1 minute 4 second.

Total Duration: 13.1 Miles.  2 : 28 : 04.  Great race!

Coming down the shoot!

Baby William came to watch me run!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on your race! The whole experience sounds fantastic!

Comment by Natalie @ Keep It Sassy

Congrats! Nice job!! Sounds like a great race for you and you made an awesome time.

Comment by Elizabeth

Kelli!!! Great race! That’s a fantastic time! As hard as they are, I really love halfs because they are hard and tough and show us how strong we are. 😀

Comment by Andrea (Off Her Cork)

Congrats on a great race! Those hills were pretty wacked. Oh, and I got a little emotional over those signs too.

Great photos of your finish. How did you manage to look all cute and glowy? I was so gross at the end.

Congrats again!

Comment by Jillian (back to the nest)




Leave a Reply

