Two Lives, One Lifestyle


What Do You Crave? by Katie
April 29, 2010, 12:18 am
Filed under: Cravings, Dessert, Dinner, Katie, Salad, Speed Work

Tuesday Night

If you worked at a grocery store and I made the following purchases (and only these), what would you guess I had for dinner last night?

IMG_1563IMG_1561IMG_1557

With a pack of corn tortillas, deli counter chicken labeled “fajita seasoned,” and pico, I headed to the register and the check-out guy was really talkative.  He brought up how he hadn’t had dinner yet (it was 8 PM) and I said something like “Well you can probably guess what I’m eating!”  No; no he could not.

So what’ll it be?

IMG_1564

Tacos of course.  Or maybe they’re fajitas?

I guess I could have been making a mini quesadilla.  In any case, maybe I just scared the guy by being so friendly.

IMG_1566

Chicken with peppers and onions, cooked frozen corn, pico, and Greek yogurt on top of warmed corn tortillas.  It took about 10 minutes to put it all together, which was great for 8:30 PM.  Easy but messy.

Running- Speed Work

Last night, I went to a Team in Training track practice and we ran 8 x 800 repetitions.  They aren’t a full out sprint but definitely not at a marathon pace, or a pace where conversation is possible.  I’m not familiar with track terms too but that’s about a half a mile, or two laps.  I did mine in around 3:55 each, almost all in negative splits (faster each of the 8 times).  I’m not sure what my time “means” or if it’s “good” so if any of your speedster trackstars out there have input, I’d be happy to hear it.

Wednesday & Cravings

Today equaled 14 hours at my school computer running simulations over and over and over.  You should see how much food I pack in the AM!  I’m on a really good kick right now so I’m going to go do more work (big time presentation tomorrow and Friday… as in I will either be told I need to make a LOT of changes or that I can go ahead and finish writing my thesis) while I wait for my sweet potato to bake.

When I finally left at 9:15, I debated rewarding my hard work with some ice cream… or maybe carrot cake…ooh!  As I drove from school to home (Whole Foods is one itty bitty turn into a parking lot along my drive), I tried to figure out what sounded most delicious.

IMG_1113

Suddenly I thought of spinach… what?

IMG_1439

After I thought about it more, at that moment, a big, fresh salad sounded AMAZING.  It sounded more appealing than ice cream.  Maybe I’ve been working too long!

I ended up not getting anything because I have enough food at home but I started to think of all sorts of vegetables and how good it all sounded.  Instead of shrugging it off due to exhaustion and crazy grad student mindset, I pondered cravings.  In this case, I wanted something rewarding to eat so my mind immediately went to sweets.  But then a quick flash of spinach and I realized that I couldn’t decide because it wasn’t what I was craving.

I think I assume that after a long day or a bad day or a tough workout I will crave ice cream or cake or cheese because I LOVE those foods. I make an impulse purchase and reward myself without considering what I really even want.  Those foods always still taste fantastic but maybe I’m not always listening to my body.  Does this make sense? Basically, we have certain indulgences we love so we assume we crave them all the time but maybe we don’t, maybe it’s just our conscious mind rather than a subconscious craving.  Like I said, it’s been a long day of repeating “FOCUS! FOCUS! FOCUS!” out loud to myself…

IMG_0104

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Actually, I get a lot of veggie/salad cravings.
I have to learn to satisfy those cravings with veggies as opposed to what is quick and easy though!

Comment by liane

Well, really a fajita is made with steak. The word fajita itself refers to a part of the cow. A part that was cheap so cowboys used it to make…fajitas….Why are my comments always about the semantics of beef?

Comment by Madelyn

hahaha at least we are learning something. So saying “chicken fajita” just refers to a menu item but in reality it’s like saying chicken steak thing? Probably could find a better translation…

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

spinach over icecream? you are definitely on the healthy train 🙂

Comment by lisaou11

I’ll go with while I can! This might not last haha

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I don’t usually have strong cravings but when I do it is usually for something really salty. But I think that is because I sweat a lot and lose a lot of electrolytes every morning on my long runs and I think after a few days my body wants thats alt back! Or that could just be an excuse to add extra salt to my food! haha!

Comment by Kelly

I never had so many cravings for salty foods until this marathon training, that totally makes sense!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

