Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Mind over Matter by Katie
April 24, 2010, 2:48 pm
Filed under: Katie, Marathon

The difference a week can make!  After last weeks 18 mile run, I was struggling.  All week I questioned my abilities and if I could possibly handle a marathon.  Throughout the week it started to become clear that it isn’t just about being mentally strong during these long runs, but way before- the whole week is preparation!  Today, I woke up looking forward to this week’s long run, a bit of a recovery week at “only” an hour and a half (I realize how ridiculous that would sound before I trained for this beast).  And… everything went just as it should.  No stomach issues, negative splits (Kelly would approve!), I had energy (oh the wonders of water and food), and I don’t feel like I need to nap for hours.

I went into this run with a really positive attitude- I psyched myself up for the past few days about how awesome I was going to be.  The run was going great and the better it went, the easier it was to be positive.  Obviously when things go well it’s motivating.  Now the distance was half of what I ran last week but it still made me feel strong and re-establish confidence in my abilities.  I guess what I’m getting at is the positive attitude going in probably had a lot to do with the positive result.  I’m hoping that my mental struggle and hitting the wall last week taught me a lesson and with better preparation, I can tackle the longer runs and ultimately THE MARATHON!

Running or not, the power of the mind is unbelievable.  Like Abby said in her post (which I read a few times and inspired my positivity)- we can choose happiness.  I knew training would impact me a lot but who knew it would make me all philosphical and reflective? I guess that’s what happens when you have a few hours inside your head ;).

Have you ever had your attitude adjusted by a good experience or been totally doubtful of yourself after a trying experience?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YAY! I am so glad you had a good run and yes, my friend, I AM proud!! 🙂

Comment by Kelly

ALL of the time. My mind really messes with me. If I have a good running day I feel on top of the world and can do anything. If i have a tough day, I really question myself. I guess we’re all just human, huh? I try to talk myself out of the negative thinking when possible.

Comment by ShutupandRun

It’s funny what ONE good run can do for you! I’m so glad you experienced that. My “good” run was my 20-turned-14 mile run.. my foot was hurting, so I stopped, but I FELT SO GOOD. And part of it was because I decided to change my attitude. Now I’m really excited for my longer runs–and my marathon is in a week and I can’t wait to see what my body is capable of!

And I thought of that post on my run.. running is the best thing for your soul!!! Thanks for the shout out!

Comment by Abby




Leave a Reply

