Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Nutty Fries And ShroomY Burgers by Katie
April 21, 2010, 11:19 pm
Filed under: Burger, Dessert, Dinner, Katie, Mushrooms, Run

I’d seen parsnip fries on a few blogs and didn’t think much of it but when I saw the parsnips that Angela of Oh She Glows made…. they went to the top of my list.  I bought 2 parsnips (the checker-outter lady had to ask me what they were) and prepared to be impressed.

Parsnips sort of look like white carrots- though some are the size of carrots that ate too many cookies.  Check out the size difference.

IMG_1483

So what did Angela do that intrigued me so?  Coated the parsnips in almond butter and peanut butter. There are few things that don’t taste better with nut butter.

For both parsnips, I first melted (microwaved for 20 seconds) a heaping TBSP of almond butter + 1/2 TBSP olive oil.  I tossed the sliced parsnips with this mixture until it was all coated.

IMG_1491

I left out the peanut butter because I forgot it in my desk drawer. Yes, my desk at work.  The fries baked at 400* for about 15 minutes before I tested one.

They were a bit smooshy still so I hit them with the broiler. Oops, make sure you watch them in the broiler! A few got extra crisp.

IMG_1504

The final product, with a little drizzle of honey because honey and nuts go together like milk and cookies.

IMG_1507

I have to be honest though.  I don’t know if I like parsnips!  I’m not the biggest carrot fan and the taste of parsnip is basically the taste of carrot I don’t like, magnified.  Sorry about that description- vegetable flavor is tough to put into words.  However, the crispy nut butter coating?! Genius.  I will absolutely try this on sweet potatoes.

For some green, I cooked 2 zucchinis with some chopped tomato and a drizzle of Italian dressing.  There was probably about a 1/2 TBSP of dressing and it coated everything well without being greasy.

IMG_1506

While I cooked it started to thunderstorm.  It really doesn’t rain much here and sometimes I miss it! It’s hard to justify staying cozy inside watching a movie (or Law & Order SVU) with a glass of wine when it’s sunny outside. I opened the sliding door to let in the fresh rain air and listen to thunder.

IMG_1490

The most delicious and easiest part of dinner was a simple Portobello burger.  Portobello mushroom cooked in a splash of olive oil and balsamic, onions sautéed in the same, and creamy goat cheese.  Yum yum yum- SO easy and simple too.

IMG_1500

This morning I decided to switch my workouts to the AM instead of the afternoon and I loved having my evening free to enjoy cooking and eating!  Breakfast is always the same anyway, so why not give myself more time to make dinner?

My runs this week have varied between 20 to 30 minutes, as an active recovery week.  My belly is still really sore, I can’t lie down on my stomach and after sitting for a long time I feel pain.  Not good! So the “active recovery” is a reasonable way to keep myself in shape while not getting inured.

Now I’m off to watch Law and Order SVU, drink some wine, and eat some of this chocolate.

IMG_1475

Do you like to work out in the morning or afternoon better? Or does switching it up help fight boredom and monotony?

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

second time i’ve seen these parsnip fries! i’ve NEVER had a parsnip before! I need to crawl out of my hole and try it 🙂

Comment by dailygoods

they are really similar to carrots… so if you’re a carrot fan you should like them!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

My mornings start at 4:45 and for some reason I get really nauseous when I work out in the am…? I prefer to workout at night but lately I’ve been preferring not to workout at all because I get so light-headed. Found out why though!

Comment by Graze With Me

I’m glad you found out why, I hope you are feeling better soon!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I am a morning person all the way…5:00am!! 🙂

Comment by Kelly

wow you and Jessi are early birdies! I’m slowly moving up my wake up time, so right now I’m starting my work later but staying later too.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Is that a Choco-Love? Yum. Weird weather these past two days, huh?

Comment by ShutupandRun

mm hmm… That Choco Love is good stuff. And this weather is terrible- snow tomorrow?!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Hey girl! I’m way behind on blog reading but have been catching up on your posts. I like carrots but am NOT a parsnip fan! I was wondering if I would like these, but now I’m thinking probably not. You hit it on the head, that it’s like a carrot but magnified…and then some! I have used them 2-3 times in soups and something else and can always detect when I take a bite of parsnip. Blegh! I like the shroom burg + chocolate much better 😉

Comment by Ashley

i also saw the recipe for parsnips on Oh She Glows but didn’t know where to find parsnips because i didn’t know what they look like! white carrots that ate too many cookies- got it! 🙂 thanks for the info

Emily

Comment by Emily Josephine

I love parsnips…boil them and add to mash potatoes, slice into disc and stir fry w/ a touch of oil, mash ’em on their own..great in the mix of corn beef & cabbage…but I must say I’ve never had them as fries!

Comment by laurie

I think I would like them better mixed with potatoes or after being in a crockpot with meat all day. I don’t like raw carrots (except in dip) and this is what the parsnips tasted like to me… but maybe if they were cooked more or with other foods.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

