Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Warm Salads and Frozen Pizza by Katie
April 15, 2010, 10:21 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Frozen Meals, Katie, Run, Salad

Tonight I came home, went for a run (more on that later), and opened Google Reader… uh oh!  The internet was out.  Figuring it was my 6 year old laptop I went about showering and cleaning my room.  When I started making dinner I realized the cable was out too!  My roommate called the company (it’s in his name) and they turned it back on but what an eye-opener of how dependent I am on internet/ cable!!  And reading all your blogs!

Last night I made a quick and easy dinner- sauteed a portobello mushroom and 3 canned artichokes, added garlic, then added a can of chopped tomatoes with Italian spices.  I let it simmer while boiling pasta and then mixed it all together (saved 1/2 for lunch) and topped it with cheese.

IMG_1444

Tonight, dinner was 1/2 good, 1/2 bad.

First I pulled out an Amy’s frozen pizza that’s been in the freezer and undetermined length of time.  It definitely had a bad influence on the flavor..

IMG_1449

Those brownish pieces are semi-burned cheese.  The cheese didn’t really melt well.  Also, the pizza was pretty small.  I only had about 1/2 because it wasn’t that great.

The better part of dinner was another warm salad.  Warm toppings make spinach go from this:

IMG_1445

To this!

IMG_1447

While the pizza baked, I sauteed about 1 Tbsp of onion in 1 Tbsp of olive oil, and then added a cup or so of frozen butternut squash.  What made this dish was a sprinkle of sea salt. SO GOOD.  If you’ve never added a pinch of sea salt to your salad, please try it.

As for running, I had a fantastic run on Tuesday after a 10 day hiatus, which made for some fresh and speedy legs.  On Wednesday the surgerized side of my body was really cramped and tender so I think running might have bothered it :-/. I went for a run today and stopped a few times to walk and make sure everything was okay.  Man, what a terrible run today.  I broke out in hives on my stomach, my whole body was itchy, and it was hard to breath.  I’m wondering if I had an allergic reaction to something now that I add all that up.  Anyway, I’m going to rest tomorrow and attempt a long run on Saturday!

Do you like warm salad toppings? What else should I try?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That looks like an awesome dinner…I want!

Comment by Kelly

My favorite “salad” that has warm toppings is spiralized zucchini, diced carrots, tofu, with steamed broccoli and steamed asparagus (topped with spicy peanut dressing)…Hmmm maybe dinner tonight??

Have a great weekend!!!

PS… I TOTALLY agree with you, chewing (aka spewing) with your mouth open is nassssty!

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

i love putting warm stuff on my salads. roasted veggies and sweet potato are my favorites.

Comment by actorsdiet

Try toasting walnuts in soy sauce, even sunflower seeds are good. I first toast the nuts/seeds in fry pan till you can smell them (no oil required) then add about a tsp, or more, of soysauce, stirring all the while. Let it soak into the nuts/seeds…om my. So good on top of anything!

Comment by laurie

I love reading your blog and pretending im in Fort Collins & running down Oak St. 🙂

My fav salad dressing is this orange olive oil vinegarette someone made one time, it was warm & tangy! yum!

Comment by teneightsixfour




Leave a Reply

