Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Fats and Salad by Katie
April 13, 2010, 11:37 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie, Nutrition, Run, Salad

Source

Just wanted to help everyone out with some dinner suggestions.  I hope to find a meat briefcase tonight.  How many ways could that could be misconstrued into something totally inapprops?

Using the researching skills I’ve honed in grad school, I quickly discovered that this particular ad appears to be a spoof.   Though before I realized that I thought “who would believe a crazy ad like that?!”.    True, the promotion of lard seems totally ridiculous but think about some of the popular weight-loss/health-promoting ideas in recent history.  Cut out fat! Eliminate all carbs!   Hey, been there, done that.   But now I have to ask myself:  “How could cutting out an entire macronutrient be good for health??”  Carbohydrates provide the most usable source of energy to our brains; tons of nutrients need dietary fat to be used by the body (called fat-soluble).

Anyone alive during the post-Atkin’s era probably learned that not all carbs are created equal but fats seem like they are still hated on way too much.  PS- dietary fat doesn’t equals body fat!  Sure, if you eat a TON of it, but consistently overeating any macronutrient would cause weight gain.

While it would take a longer post to go over all the types of fats and what they do and why they aren’t equal and evil, I wanted to share some research that struck me as “Wow, how did we miss this?! Brilliant!”  Eating salad with fat (in dressing or in something like avocados) helps nutrient absorption better than with non-fat dressing. I’m sure there isn’t 100% agreement but considering that so many vitamins are fat-soluble, it isn’t a far-fetched idea.  Some sources:  Avocado fats on salad, salad dressing study, NYTimes Health summary article.

[Quick little side note that no, I don’t have a nutrition degree, just lots of science background with active reading and learning through sources like published studies and not articles telling me how to lose 10 lbs in 10 days. Take it in, do your own research, challenge the ideas, just be polite in discussion!]

Speaking of fats in salad, the salad I made tonight was the best salad I’ve ever made.  Salads are always so delicious when I order them at a restaurant, though I’m lacking some sort of salad-making skill.  I like vegetables, but I love them much more with enhancements like sauces and cooking.

I started with 1/2 a chopped portobello mushroom and some thinly sliced red onion in a pan. I drizzled a really small bit of balsamic vinegar over the top and let everything brown. While it cooked, I used 2 forks to toss spinach with enough olive oil to coat the leaves.

Once the mushrooms and onions were cooked, I added them to the spinach while still warm and tossed it all together.  The spinach wilted just a bit and everything was slightly warm.  All the leaves were coated with a bit of veggie balsamic “juices” and olive oil.

You know what would make this better?  Something crunchy and meaty- roasted nuts? Or bacon!  Totally different lighting:

I also ate some Amy’s Reduced Sodium Spicy Chili.  After a few bites I had to go fish the can out of the recycling to check if there was meat in it or not.  Wow, they did a great job with making tofu into faux meat.  Someone want to trick a die-hard tofu-hater?

It was spicy and good, though it could have had more flavor.  Definitely good for a canned chili though.

I’m enjoying a serving of noosa yogurt for dessert- this stuff is GOOD.  You’ll just have to come to CO to try it though :).  Night!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I loooove fat, especially in avocado form! I hate that it’s hated on so much.

That salad looks delicious. I made a salad a couple months ago with caramelized onions and it was SO good. I have to make that again!!!

Comment by Janna

I feel the need to stand up for fat! In the blog world, it seems like way more people have a good relationship with it but not so much in the general public.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Haha! I love that ad, even if it is fake. It brightened my morning. I have to try that Noosa yogurt…I stare at it at the farmer’s market almost every Saturday.

Comment by Emily

It’s more expensive but the trade-off of it being local and delicious make it worth it for me.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Oh my gosh that look fabulous! I want! I want!

Comment by Kelly

I want it again too!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I totally agree on this topic. I love how you’ve presented it. Society has made us so afraid of all carbs and fat it’s sad!! I love researching and finding out the truth…I also love noosa 😉

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

