Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Return to the Gym by Katie
April 12, 2010, 11:36 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Elliptical, Katie, Salad

I kept myself busy this morning checking things off of my to-do list.  Keeping really busy makes time fly and I was anxiously awaiting a follow-up appointment with my surgeon!  Check out my new inspiration-covered notebook from the cutest little shop, wordshop. With thesis finishing and job searching, daily and weekly to-do lists are a must and I was sick of writing on ripped up paper scraps that I always ended up losing.

IMG_1430

Follow-up results??  Woo hoo! I can do aerobic exercise and “light lifting, but nothing over 50 lbs.”  Do I look like I lift over 50 lbs? My incisions are SO small, I thought about posting a picture since they are seriously the size of a staple but decided it might make some people squeamish.  Oh, and he told me to start eating more fats to experiment.  Clearly that meant a cookie from Whole Foods.

As soon as I could, I went to the gym to ellipticize.  I didn’t want to go balls to the wall on a long run or anything, and stuck to the gym just in case I had any sudden pain.  I felt great for the most part, but toward the end my side felt cramped. It went away fast though so not too worried about it.

My fridge was pretty empty so I hit up Whole Foods after the gym.  WF after the gym is tough! Before I went in, I told myself to buy ONLY what I needed for dinner tonight.  I did a good job, and just ended up with one extra item: an oatmeal cookie for $1.09 that I ate in the car.  Post-gym fuel?

Dinner is served. Spinach, cucumbers, thinly sliced red onion in seasoned rice wine vinegar.  You don’t even need oil, it’s so good.

IMG_1420

And a semi-impulse buy (took me 15 minutes of walking around to pick which impulse idea I wanted) of bison-quinoa meatballs.  They were on sale for $2 off in the prepared food case.

IMG_1425

See the quinoa in the meatballs?  It’s good we don’t call beef meatballs “cow meatballs.” By the way, why do we say beef instead of cow but use the real name of chicken, salmon, bison, etc to describe those foods?

I also made some oven-baked sweet potato rounds.  They were super sweet, I didn’t even need honey (my fave sweet ‘tato dip). I dipped the balls in BBQ sauce- yum yum.

IMG_1422

So far neither the cookie nor the meatballs are giving me any problems.

I also had a glass of this wine.  It was on special for 1/2 off at Wilbur’s, making it $6. I really loved it, it was so light and refreshing.  It would be perfect to sip while watching the sunset over a lake during the summer.  Not like that’s my ideal setting to drink wine or anything. Fair trade is a bonus!

IMG_1427

Here’s the description Wilbur’s gave in their email:

Vinedos de la Posada was the second Fair Trade Wine to come out of Argentina. It was founded with the sole mission to preserve the tradition of small, family-owned vineyards, and the workers that care for them. This wine is 100% Pinot Grigio from the La Rioja province in Argentina. It is light straw in color with fresh lemon and peach fruit aromas. Bright tropical fruit flavors burst onto the palate with hints of green apple and floral notes. This is a crisp and refreshing Pinot Grigio that would pair great with fresh fruit, mild cheeses or seafood dishes.

On a less delicious note, my feet are so gross. Not like dirty gross but dry gross. I love wearing flip flops and sandals and as soon as the temperature is over 50*, I’ll have them on.  I noticed in the extremely terrible lighting of the doctor’s office that my feet look like those of an elderly lizard.  Good thing this was a Christmas present:

IMG_1419

Wow this stuff smells strong! At least it’s refreshing?  I’ll be trying to remember to moisturize my feet every night and let you know how it goes.  Some nail polish would help too.  Though I’m thinking I’ll save an actual pedicure for post-marathon since I don’t want to lose all my callused blisters and start blistering all over again (mmm glamorous).

What was the best part of your Monday?

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OMG Whole Foods is deadly. I’m seriously craving everything about that meal right now! Yummm.

PS that notebook is so cute!!

Comment by Rachel @ Shedding It

I want to eat it all over again too! The notebook is so nice, with thick pages and lined on one side, graph paper on the other. The graph paper makes me want to write a budget or draw some graphs!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Well beef means cow, bull, or steer…an animal of the genus Bos. Cow is only a female bovine. So we usually use beef just to mean the flesh, but it can be used to descirbe the animal itself too. If you were talking about a herd of cows and oxen, you could say a heard of beeves. haha.

Comment by sa soeur

hahaha thanks. where did you look that up?

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

the unabridged dictionary is my bffl

Comment by sa soeur

YAY! I am glad you are allowed to go back to the gym! Exciting! And that foot lotion is awesome!! I love it!

Comment by Kelly

Best part of Monday was….not being sore from the weekend’s bike rides! 🙂

Comment by hundredtenpounds

Doesn’t that just make you feel like an athletic super-star? Love it.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

its probably a good thing we dont have a whole foods there–i spend enough already on food! 🙂

Comment by lisaou11

They make everything look amazing, and everything I try IS amazing!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

