Two Lives, One Lifestyle


7 Mile Run on the Windsor Locks Canal Trails by Kelli
April 12, 2010, 6:23 am
Filed under: Eggs, Kelli, Run, Workout

Hi All!  I hope you had a lovely and restful weekend and are ready for your week.  I slept in this morning, per usual, and am currently boiling two eggs for breakfast.  Hard boiled eggs have been my go to breakfast lately since they are fast, easy, tastey, and full of protein!!  I also did the PILE of dishes that had acumulated this weekend that just never got done.  This makes me feel very accomplished and I don’t think I should have to go to work 😀

Yesterday I went on a 7 mile run on the Windsor Locks Canal Trails.  I have had a lot of issues with long runs lately.  I have had trouble finding a nice pace, my hip hurts, lots of “negative nancy” thoughts creep into my head such as “Why are you even trying?  This is never going to happen.”  It has been very disheartenting and I had no idea how to stop it.  Yesterday there were no negative thoughts, I found a nice pace after about a half mile, and my hip felt great (possibly because of new shoes!!) The trail was BEAUTIFUL and goes right along the Connecticut river.  There were lots of families out ofr bike rides, and other runner enjoying a jog along the river.  It was a very zen run and there were lots of positive thoughts a-flowin 🙂  Here is the breakout of my run:

Mile 1: 11:25

Mile 2: 11:23

Mile 3: 11:37

Mile 4:  11:43

Mile 5: 11:41

Mile 6: 11:55

Mile 7:  11:57

I was happy with my pace and felt good the whole time.  I think one of the problems lately has been that I start out every run too fact, at a 10-10:30 min/mile pace.  When comparing myself to MYSELF and no one else, that is way too fast.  I don’t know why my body cannot go faster, I really don’t.  I train HARD and push myself, but really no matter what my pace does not go down.  I am ok with it though.  I love to run and I don’t go out there and hit the pavement to prove anything to anyone else.  I run because I think it is incredible that my body is strong enough to run THAT far without walking.  Its a great feeling 🙂

I hope you all have a great Monday!!  On the books for me is work (boo!), 4 mile tempo run at Golds, and GROCERY SHOPPING!!  I never got around to doing that last week!  OOPS!  Currently we only have eggs, a bag of carrots, and some almond milk!!  HORRIBLE!!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am a slow runner too – just the way I’m built I guess! 7 miles is awesome – great job!

Comment by Elle @ Acquired Tastes

oh man, best part of monday…probably the chicken mole i made (I was excited it turned out well) and drinking wine with friends 🙂

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

