Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Sunny Sunday: Platte Half And The Rockies by Katie
April 11, 2010, 8:24 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Races

John and I woke up bright and early for a role reversal- he was running this morning.  The Platte River Half Marathon was this morning and John ran as the last leg of a relay team.  The relay was available for teams of three: 2 five milers and the last person ran 3.1 miles.

Before heading out I fueled up with an egg + egg white sandwich and fruit.  I knew it would be awhile till I ate again since I was the relay team shuttle car.

IMG_1314

We all cheered Jenny (John’s roommate’s girlfriend) on at the start of the first 5 mile relay leg. It was too hard to spot her for a picture though as the crowds went past.

IMG_1315

I did get a picture of the crazy fast race winner types. The two girls in the sports bras finished as the top 2 females.  No big deal, they were running 6:00 minute miles or something.

IMG_1319

Then we hopped in the car to drive down to the relay exchange point.  Andrew took the ankle bracelet timing chip from Jenny and was off!  Here he is finishing his five miler.

IMG_1337

Go, John! He had a 5k to run and this former track star “trained” with 2 runs this week.

IMG_1339

Well he kicked butt- John finishing his 3.1 miles in 23 minutes! He seriously needs to do more races.  And train for them.

IMG_1341

I took over 100 pictures of random runners, I was really wishing I was on that course!  Sitting and watching made me want to run that much more.  Super sprinter:

IMG_1357

My Team in Training running buddy Judi finished in under 2 hours!  I hope that’s an indication of our marathon capabilities ;).  From watching this race, I realized I need to get some funky shorts to run in.  It’s so much easier to spot people.

IMG_1365

Some runners grabbed their kids to finish the route, which was adorable.

IMG_1359

IMG_1363

IMG_1364

This lady was definitely in the 60 or older bracket and she ran by with a bikini top on.  Jenny and I laughed but then realized she had better abs and a better rack than us (the non-movement of her girls leads me to believe they were not the real deal). So instead we just cheered her on, hoping to look that at her age. Plus she finished around 1:52. Total props to her, there is no way I could run a half in a bikini top OR that fast.

IMG_1351

After the race and some snacks borrowed from John’s bag of food schwag, we headed to a Rockies game!  This weekend was the home-opener weekend plus 70* weather.  I loved their beer du jour designation.

IMG_1366

The gorgeous weather brought out a packed stadium.  I like going to baseball games just for the people watching, sun-bathing, and beer drinking opportunities.  But I also really do like baseball, I promise.

IMG_1368

IMG_1373

I grew up as a Yankees fan (who’s gonna hate on this first?!) and the Rockies games remind me more of the Rochester Red Wings games I grew up going to.  The ticket cost is a bit more reasonable too.  How roided out does Giambi look?

IMG_1369

When Matt Daley took the pitcher’s mound, I took about 40 pictures since he’s a Bucknell alum!!  I’m really impressed with my zoom too.

IMG_1403

IMG_1394

IMG_1399

In the end the Rockies won and I left with the first-of-the-season sunburn!  I know I shouldn’t be too excited about sunburn but I was SO white.  We’ll definitely be frequenting some more Sunday afternoon baseball games this season!

After the game, I was starving.  Since ballpark food isn’t gall-bladder-removal recovery friendly, I had John stop at a Chipotle for me.  Mmm, a burrito bowl salad with chicken and black beans.

IMG_1418

Between 2 afternoon beers and being outside ALL day, I have a feeling I’m going to be in bed early.  I’m actually excited for work because on Friday I finally got my computer model results to match the experimental results better than I could ever imagine!!  Basically, this means 9 months of work culminated into a meaningful, THESIS FINISHING result. It’s my baby, literally, after 9 months of labor.

What did you do all weekend?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh wow. loved all the racing pics! 60 years old and a bikini…man, I wish I was as brave and fit as her when I’m 50! Haha!

CONGRATS on the thesis-worthy result! Woo hoo! What a relief!

Comment by sophia

Thanks for the congratulations!! I wish I was brave enough to run in a bikini… ever!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Hey! You were at Sunday’s Rockies game too?? We should’ve coordinated something! Did you see when that girl got pegged in the face in the 8th inning?? I felt so bad for her…

Comment by Graze With Me

[…] that race, I couldn’t wait to do another (oh and that pesky surgery stopped me from doing the Platte River Half Marathon).  Enter: The Cherry Creek Sneak 5k.  I went with the 5k distance since I’m more of a […]

Pingback by Cherry Creak Sneak Recap « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

