Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Adjustments by Katie
April 6, 2010, 8:08 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Eggs, Katie

Hey world!  After a few days of eating lots of soup (I always loved this really basic soup when I had strep 239847 times as a kid),

IMG_1188

And drinking a lot of juice (I can’t keep this in the house! I’m a grape-juice-aholic!),

IMG_1194

Plus lots of crackers, jelly + english muffin halves, a few fruits and veggies… I’m finally getting back to some normal semblance of eating. I’m off of the pain meds but still sore- really sore when walking- and just trying to pace myself. Tomorrow, I’m going to go back to my office since I just sit at a desk all day and sitting and laying down feel fine.

Monday morning I had cantaloupe, strawberries, and an English muffin half with jelly (I know that’s a really small breakfast for normal; my appetite is just not 100% still).

IMG_1193

A few hours later, I made a mushroom/broccoli scramble with 1 egg + 1 egg white.  On Saturday I made an egg white only scramble and it was just gross and falling apart- big time fail.  I’ve been cautiously adding back fats following many forewarnings from the surgeon and nurses. Eventually, I should be able to return to normal eating though for right now my body is adjusting to digesting fats.

IMG_1195

On the side of the veggie filled eggs (weren’t my best work), I had really simple mashed potatoes that John and I made on the weekend- just potatoes, garlic, and 1% milk.

IMG_1197

I was a little bored during the day so I did a photo shoot of my roommate’s cat, Kitty.  There are seriously over 40 pictures…  She was totally working it.

IMG_1207IMG_1212IMG_1231

Kitty just celebrated her 15th birthday and says to contact her agent.

Since the eggs went over so well, I got adventurous and pulled out a snack of yogurt.  Then I realized this yogurt is 0% fat which seems utterly impossible based on how creamy it was!  The vanilla flavor had just a tiny hint of vanilla, but not sweet in any way.   Usually vanilla is associated as a sweeter flavor but the yogurt is definitely quite tangy.  I approve and so does my update digestive system.

IMG_1223

For dinner I made a little burrito with seasoned lean ground turkey (cooked it/ate it on Sunday night too), tomatoes, lettuce, corn, and a tiny sprinkle of cheese!  Yay cheese! And it seemed to agree with me.

IMG_1250

After finishing a book late-night, I slept in a bit and woke up with no appetite.  I decided I should eat something so I went with a bowl of cantaloupe.

IMG_1256

Then there were some Kix (um, there were also some Kix at some point yesterday as I recall, and just now again- darn cereal!).

IMG_1251

I’ve been really bored with my food intake though and wanted to try something new for the next meal (well more like snack. Lots of snacks.)- almond butter! I used maybe a tablespoon and some of Heather’s jam on top of an English muffin.  It tasted so good.

IMG_1263

About an hour later, I decided to try a really small portion of frozen leftover curry.  I can’t stress enough that this wasn’t spicy in the least and full of just vegetables, made with light coconut milk.

IMG_1264

Well one of the above two culprits left my stomach very angry.  Who is to blame, I’m not sure. Sigh, trial and error and patience.

I just had some dry Kix for a snack and hopefully I’ll get an appetite for a real dinner soon.  Now I have so much catching up to do on your lives!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I used to LOOOVE kix!!!! Glad you seem to be on the road to recovery!! 🙂

Comment by Ashley

They are so delicious. I was slightly put-off by their new box. I didn’t take a picture but it shows kix in the shape of a corn cob. After reading Omnivore’s Dilemma, the last thing I wanted to be in my face was a corn cob on a box of cereal!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

