Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Last Gall Bladder Supper by Katie
April 1, 2010, 12:23 pm
Filed under: Dessert, Dinner, Katie, Run

Well good morning! Yesterday was a whirlwind of getting things done before surgery.  Nothing like being laid up for a few days to light a fire under that to-do list.

I cleaned the whole apartment over the past two days just to be thorough.  My room was the worst!

IMG_1159

I’ve been heading to Denver on weekends so much that I just run through my room all week like a tornado.

IMG_1161

My mom and sister would probably be shocked by this mess, I always kept my room so neat.

IMG_1158

PS- I was washing the sheets, I’m not that bad ;).

Ah! So much better- laundry done and away, freshly washed sheets, vacuumed floors.

IMG_1170

IMG_1171

IMG_1174

My glass desk makes it still seem sort of cluttered since you can see underneath where I have shelf storage but I promise it is 100x better. I sorted, shredded, and recycled a ton of mail and other papers.

After work yesterday, I went on my last run for a few weeks :-/.  I’m hopeful that I will be able to walk, elliptical, or maybe pool run before then but I’ll only do what I’m cleared for and doesn’t hurt.  I’d rather run/walk a slow marathon than be injured for life!

Anyway back to that run.  I only had about 45 minutes and decided to go with no Garmin. It was glorious and I enjoyed every minute of it as my mind wandered and watched a beautiful sundown.  I love the Garmin and knowing my pace but not glancing at it every 3 minutes was very good for a stress-relieving, head-clearing run.

Then it was time for my “Farewell to Gladys” dinner.  This might sound ridiculous but other than the set-back to training, my biggest worry about the surgery is what I’ll be able to eat afterward.  It can take weeks, months, or even years until the body adjusts to no gall bladder.  What does that mean? Well, that any highly fatty food might make me very and rapidly ill.  On a daily basis, that’s fine but then I started to think of all the treats that would be hard to enjoy: ice cream, pizza (unless homemade), Mexican food (cheezzzzy goodness), cheese, and on and on.  Even guacamole and nut butters in large quantities might be tough to digest!

So in light of the potential inability to pig out for awhile, I went ahead and ate an indulgent, fat-filled meal last night (and yeah, I had a stomachache after but it was worth it ;)).

John came up from Denver since he’s going to be my caretaker for the surgery and we went to Enzio’s with Jorge and Matt.

IMG_1181

Warm herbed bread with olive oil and balsamic.

IMG_1182

One of the best pasta dishes ever- chicken rosmario. Enzio’s has homemade pasta which makes every dish that much better. Here’s the description: Penne, grilled chicken, shallots, capers, artichoke hearts, Roma tomatoes and dijon gorgonzola cream sauce. Source

IMG_1184

The sauce is rich and creamy with a hint of rosemary.  I have leftovers that I have to give away to John :(.  Looking at this picture makes me want to eat it! Must stop! [I’m not allowed to eat or drink at all today before the surgery].

Next was the Chocolate Cafe and a white chocolate croissant bread pudding.  Um, I wished I saved more room.  I enjoyed as much as possible and shared with everyone else.  Wow, I can’t even think of how to describe this other than outstanding.

IMG_1187 IMG_1185

As Matt said, I basically gave Gladys the finger with that meal.  Now it’s time to shower and get ready to go! I’m really not nervous, as I know I react fine to anesthesia, it’s a short procedure, and I won’t be in nearly as much pain as when I had a tonsillectomy.  My biggest concerns are what I will and won’t be able to eat and what pain meds they give me (many make me feel awful and sick to my stomach).

Obviously, I probably won’t post much in the next few days but my guess is I’ll be eating lots of bread and fruit and soup. I’m getting cranky since surgery isn’t until 2:30 but I wasn’t allowed to eat since midnight!  Have a great weekend!!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have you in my thoughts and I will be looking for an udpate when you can!! 🙂

Comment by Kelly

Thanks so much! I’ll tweet or something 🙂

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I hope it goes well!

Also, I think your glass desk is really cute! Is it built into the wall or just up against the wall?

Comment by Emily

what a great last meal! Don’t worry about what you can and can’t eat, for me at least, I didn’t have to restrict too much…carbonation is the worst though. Also, I love your room, it looks so cozy!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

Seems like the return to my normal eating will be a matter of time though who knows how long- everyone I talk to tells a completely different story, from weeks to years!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

[…] with my sister and Kelli and ever since that race, I couldn’t wait to do another (oh and that pesky surgery stopped me from doing the Platte River Half Marathon).  Enter: The Cherry Creek Sneak 5k.  I went […]

Pingback by Cherry Creak Sneak Recap « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

