Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Cauliflower Power Curry by Katie
March 30, 2010, 11:57 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Katie, Lunch, Snacks, Speed Work, Wine

At breakfast I was rollin’, rollin’, rollin’ down the almond butter river… letting the AB melt on the hot oats makes it last longer as it spreads over more oats.  More bites with AB equals yummier oats.

IMG_1133

Some coffee helped me buzz through a bunch of work and then I rolled on over to Chipotle for lunch.

IMG01033-20100330-1106

Pile of guacamole equals fats, albeit healthy fats, but the gall bladder doesn’t discriminate.  Right now that means pain (although any emotion makes me cry, I have a high physical pain tolerance) and some stomach troubles.  Post-surgery my body will have to adjust to digesting foods with fats and it’s suggested to do this trial (and hopefully not error) at home and um, near the loo.

After running a bunch of errands and cleaning, I ate some PBJ toast and eventually made my way to track practice!

IMG_1156

Track included:

  • Mile warmup @ 9:10/mile pace
  • 3 x 800 (aka 0.5 mile) @ 7/mile pace
    • Side note: didn’t know I had that in me!
  • Tempo mile @ 8:50/mile pace
  • Mile cooldown @ 10:00/mile pace

I should have done more of the 800s but missed the group heading out to warm-up and had to do that first. Still pretty happy with my speeds!

A cucumber + balsamic simple salad helped tide me over ‘till dinner warmed up.

IMG_1139

Way before track practice (love saying that… I feel 10 years younger. OMG, was I really in high school 10 years ago??? Crazy.), I started prepping this cauliflower Indian dish I saw on What’s For Dinner a week ago.  It is VERY fast for me to make a recipe so close to seeing it but  I just couldn’t wait!

A few substitutions were made.  Instead of 3 white potatoes, I used 2 Russet and 1 sweet potato.  Something about sweet potatoes and Indian spices just works.

IMG_1144

I did start off with a whole onion as the recipe calls for.

IMG_1146

There was a delicious picture of spices and a complex list in Mara’s version but in a “I’m moving in 2 months so I should use what I have” type of logic, I went with red curry paste (substitution #2).  Totally not the same flavor as aloo gobi though, which doesn’t contain curry powder.  Plus this curry is Thai and not Indian… so it was a poor substitution and a completely different flavor.

IMG_1147

Coconut milk, tomatoes, and onions swimming around together.

IMG_1150

A head of cauliflower, a drained & rinsed can of garbanzo beans, 2 Russet potatoes, and 1 sweet potato later.

IMG_1152

Much later (definitely over an hour), after simmering away and absorbing curry.

IMG_1162

While my “substitution” might have turned this into a different dish altogether, it was still flavorful and delicious.. thanks for the inspiration Mara!

IMG_1164

Unfortunately, after having a few too many bites to “test” it, I wasn’t very hungry once the rice was ready (not that I even needed rice).  I did enjoy a small bowl with some wine on the side.

IMG_1168

To bed with me!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

thanks for stopping by! i think i could LIVE off of PBJ toast. it is probably my favorite treat ever 🙂 good luck with your fitness goals!

Comment by janetha

Mmm Chipotle 😉 Sorry about the fat and icky stomach situation. I hope full recovery is soon!

Comment by Katie

Thanks!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I’m thinking of you and hoping your surgery goes well tomorrow!

Comment by Emily

thanks for your thoughts and sweet words 🙂

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

That curry looks really good, I love curried cauliflower!
All the best on your surgery tomorrow, and wishing you a very speedy recovery!

Comment by liane

Thanks for reminding me how delicious cucumber salads are!!! yummmm I can’t wait til you’re feeling better. I’m glad you’re still getting your running in though.

Comment by Ashley

So light, refreshing, and delicious. I love salads so much more as the weather warms up!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

