Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Monday Meals by Katie
March 29, 2010, 11:09 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Burger, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Lunch, Run

Monday morning started out with nausea and extra laying in bed trying to think happy (non-throw-up) thoughts.  Don’t worry, it’s definitely my gall bladder and not anything else that causes morning nausea. 😉

Much later than usual, I had a simple just egg + egg white omelet and toast with Heather’s jam.  Thankfully, it sat very well.

IMG_1120

For lunch I heated up leftover curry chicken and brown rice from the weekend.  I used to hate leftovers growing up but I’ve come to appreciate them so much cooking for one.

IMG_1122

About an hour before I wanted to run, I had an afternoon snack of toast and honey.  Great Harvest whole wheat is so soft and tasty.  Since I don’t usually get through an entire loaf very fast, I store it in the freezer.  Nonetheless, it toasts up like fresh, soft bread.

IMG_1123

I tried some new socks out for running.  The ones I usually wear are reinforced in the arches and causing major blisters. These Nike ones are super thin and low on the ankles- both pluses for me!  And no blisters formed! Right now on my arches there are blisters on top of blisters but no new ones today.

IMG_1125

My socks were great but my run was just so-so.  The first 2.5 miles felt great and then my stomach started to act up in addition to side pains.  Usually the old Gladys gall bladder doesn’t bother me unless I’m eating but maybe she was angry since the surgeon was poking and pressing her all morning in the consult.  I walked the last mile and it was a rather lovely, enjoyable almost 70* night.  The sun was setting over the mountains so really, who can complain about that??

Post-running and shower, I toasted up a head of kale rubbed with oil and vinegar, sprinkled with salt. Before:

IMG_1126

After- shrunken down and crunchy.  I looove them.  I shared with my roommate and Jorge and they seemed to like them too.

IMG_1127

For dinner, I tried a Dr. Praeger’s vegetable burger on a sandwich thin.  I liked it but didn’t love it… maybe they will grow on me?  The sweet potato fries were clearly delicious.

IMG_1130

So does anyone else think Dr. Praeger is kind of a creeper in this picture??

IMG_1128

I’m enjoying some pinot grigio with my roommate now and off to bed soon.  What’s your favorite veggie burger? I should probably just start working on my own recipe… though my mushroom cream cheese burger is pretty delish!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that those socks have an L and R on them! I have never seen that 🙂 I think I am burnt out on store-bought veggies burgers – I don’t really have a favorite anymore. I really want to start making my own but I am a little scared. They looks so good when other foodies make them 🙂

Comment by Whitney @ Lettuce Love

Exactly! They make them sound easy and delicious but I’m still a little scared. The left and right designation was oh so helpful too 😉

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Our meals look the same over the last few days! I’ve made indian, kale chips and sw potato fries 🙂 My fav vege burger would probably be Trader Joe’s Veg medley.

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

AH! Yet again, Trader Joe’s jealousy strikes. Too bad frozen veg burgers don’t ship well.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

oh he’s totally creepy looking!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

definitely NOT what I expected after reading about the veggie loving doctor

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

ahahaha Totally creeeepy!!! Love salt + vin kale chips..mmmmm

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

