Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Goodbye Gladys by Katie
March 29, 2010, 5:12 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Dessert, Ice cream, Katie, Restaurant, Run

Saturday I woke up bright and early to tackle my longest run yet.  I fueled with 1/2 a banana and a granola bar (I just had one).  The old stomach was acting up a bit but thankfully it was feeling better before I left the house.

IMG_1084

IMG_1083

I had great company and conversation during the run, which makes it SO much better.  The time goal was 2:30 and I ran a total of 15.6 miles.  The thought of running 10.6 more miles is a bit daunting, though we all agreed that stopping (for water or fuel) and starting is much harder than just going.  Instead of posting each split since that would be really long, the average pace was 9:36, including a few stops for traffic lights and water.

I’ve decided that gels aren’t the greatest fuel for me and that shot blocks are too big to chew while breathing, which is key for running.  Maybe sharkies? Or make my own concoction as Kath mentioned recently?

FYI- I didn’t take ANY food pictures for the rest of the day due to a Team in Training breakfast, running errands/ going out for lunch, and having dinner with my uncle :(.  Here’s my uncle’s cute dog, Violet, and a beer I had at his house instead.

IMG_1086

IMG_1091

Delicious semi-sweet dark beer.

Sunday morning brought an amazing brunch with Dottie! I walked to Root Down since it was gorgeous outside. Getting in a nice stroll after a long-run day always feels nice too.

IMG_1094

Root Down was pretty busy but we were able to sit right away.  Neither of us had been before but the menu was mouth-watering.  We both ordered a benedict variation.  Here’s mine: a sliced croissant (it definitely wasn’t a full croissant but enough for the meal), thin Canadian bacon, poached eggs, and hollandaise. Everything was flavorful and rich.

IMG_1097

On the side, there was a light spinach salad and regular and sweet potato homefries. They were nice and crisp without being greasy.

IMG_1095

I would most definitely go back!  Dottie let me try the quinoa cake that came with her benedict and it was quite amazing. Someone with better culinary skills should try to recreate this ;).  The waitress was also helpful in explaining things and asking about allergies.  When they accidentally used tomato hollandaise on Dottie’s eggs (she is allergic to tomatoes), the waitress apologized and had it remade quickly.  Plus, she brought a complimentary yogurt and granola side dish.  Aside from the food, it was great to meet and chat with Dottie! We’ll be getting together again for sure.

Later in the day, John and I went for a long walk to enjoy the weather ending at Lola’s for salsa, chips, a drink, and live music.  Next door, there is a fun little ice cream shop so you know we stopped.  I finally remembered I had a blog.

Little Man Ice Cream.. It looks like a giant milk can!

IMG_1103

IMG_1105

IMG_1102

IMG_1104

I love the retro feel.  They play old-fashioned music and have vintage touches all over.

IMG_1107

The little courtyard with picnic tables and strung lights is so cozy on a summer night.

IMG_1111

IMG_1112

Another reason Little Man gains points in my book is their commitment to donate a scoop of rice to third world countries for every scoop of ice cream they sell.   Like I need another excuse to get ice cream.

IMG_1109

I had German the chocolate cake gelato.  This is the giant single scoop- creamy chocolate with some coconut flakes and chunks of cake.

IMG_1113

Do I need to say it? While delicious, this made me feel so sick. Worthless gall bladder (more on that later)!  I named her Gladys last week.

After laying in bed watching Law and Order until I didn’t feel sick, I eventually got hungry for dinner.  We kept it simple- pasta, jarred sauce, plus some added broccoli and artichokes for vegetables.  Classico Basil Sauce? Blech.  The taste of dried basil is not nearly as wonderful as fresh basil.

IMG_1116

More stomach aching ensued and I was so grateful that I had a surgeon consult scheduled for Monday!  That being said, I’m having Gladys the gall bladder removed on Thursday!  I debated when to do it but I think the sooner, the better so I can recovered in time for busy thesis finishing and the marathon.  The surgery is pretty fast and laparoscopic which means not too invasive and fast recovery.  I shouldn’t be out of work more than a few days and was actually encouraged to get up and walk in the days immediately after to prevent clotting.

Thank goodness for my supportive Team in Training coach who is going to make me a new schedule.  If I need to, I’ll walk half of it but I want to finish it!

I’ll be back in a few hours with another post tonight!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I need that beer. But I need it now…(commencing thinking about hitting up the liquor store on the way home…) 🙂

Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish)

I want running friends!!!!

Comment by abbynormally

I really can’t imagine doing these long runs alone.. I might be addicted to training but only with friends!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Love the outdoor photos!! Holllly moly ice cream!! I need to meet Dottie!!!

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

