Two Lives, One Lifestyle


No Such Thing as Leftover Sushi by Katie
March 23, 2010, 12:05 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Eggs, Frozen yogurt, Katie, Lift, Mushrooms, Protein shake, Run, Snacks

Once John awoke from his slumber on Sunday morning/afternoon, we went house hunting.  SIKE!  We did walk around the Highlands neighborhood and go through a few open houses though- it’s fun to see what’s out there.

After lots of walking, we were both ready for some food (though it was my snack time and his lunch time).   This is John’s post flip omelet- he is a good flipper.

His cooking skills are a work in progress so he told me his strategy is to get really good at one thing and then learn one more thing, and on and on.

I made a Greek yogurt, banana, & peanut butter snack.

Peanut butter tastes so sweet compared to the tart yogurt (and there is no sugar in the PB).

For dinner, we tried to get sushi again.  I started with a seaweed salad and not sure what the issue was but I could not manage more than 3 bites of the rolls.  I felt so nauseous and full and in pain.  It sounds pathetic but all I wanted to do was get in bed.

Well, after a yogurt + frozen blueberries + granola breakfast (and some Irish soda bread I munched in the car), I got a phone call that might explain my issues.  My gall bladder is broken :(.

By broken I mean it isn’t pumping out bile to digest foods as it should.  The recommendation is for surgery.  With my thesis defense and marathon coming up, this is kind of a bummer but life doesn’t always happen how we plan it now does it?

[I had a turkey sandwich + Cold Stone Tart ‘n Tangy yogurt for lunch but my camera was forgotten.  Impressed with the yogurt!]

After work, I fit in a quick run before it got dark- my legs were feeling heavy!

  • Mile 1: 9:40
  • Mile 2: 9:28
  • Mile 3: 9:10

Glad I pushed a bit for those negative splits. I made a green monster right after with this Terra’s Whey protein sample that was on sale.  The flavor enticed me…

I wish I had tried it just by itself for comparison but I wasn’t a huge fan of it in the monster.  Maybe it was the somewhat weird flavor combo- almond milk + banana + spinach + bourbon vanilla?  It was very sweet too.

For awhile, I was staying right on track with the Fitnessista’s Intro to Iron plan but ever since I was home last weekend, I fell off the bandwagon.  I jumped back on tonight!

  • Overhead press: 3 x 15 with 12-lb dumbbells
  • Dips: 3 x 12
  • Stability Ball Push Ups:  3 x 15
  • Lateral Raises: 3 x 15 with 8-lb dumbells
  • Cable Tricep Extension: 0- cause some guys are machine hoggers

In the ~2 weeks of slacking, I noticed my arms were not as firm.  That’s sadly fast but also great motivation!

I tried to eat the sushi from last night for dinner.  Um.  Don’t do that.  The rice was dried out and crunchy and the eel wasn’t sweet and soft anymore but more like dead eel on the beach.

Instead- whole wheat penne with mushrooms and tomato sauteed with garlic and a splash of red wine.

Oh and parmesan on top of course.

The less than normal appetite (seriously, that is way less food than usual) is bothering me but hopefully this gall bladder is the culprit. Nothing sounds all that appealing.  Every time I think of food, I start to think of how much pain I’ll be in afterwards and it’s a real buzz kill! I like food!  Anyone out there ever had gall bladder symptoms or surgery and have some good tips??

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sorry to hear about your gall bladder! My dad had his gall bladder removed years back. Before his surgery he had similar problems to you…he just cut back on high-fat foods (avocado, red meat, etc) and tried to figure out what triggered his symptoms. His recovery after surgery went well and now he’s back to eating with no gall bladder-related restrictions. Don’t know if this helps, but hang in there!

Comment by Emily

I should probably cut back on my PB huh? I don’t eat toooo many super fatty or greasy meals but definitely include lots of healthy fats. I’m glad your dad felt relief from his surgery! Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

My dad ate a pretty high fat diet before his surgery–and not the good fats, either. Cutting back on PB is hard!

Comment by Emily

I haven’t personally had gall bladder surgery, but my mom did. They went in laproscopically and the surgery was quick. Her recovery time was also quick and after a looooong time of not really being able to enjoy food because it all made her so sick, she’s finally able to eat and enjoy it again. Not so much a tip, but just to let you know that there is light at the end of your surgery tunnel! =]

Comment by Jen

Thanks!! I’m glad to hear it was a quick recovery! No surgery is fun but it seems like this is on the easier side in terms of recovery

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Scary about the surgery. I’m sure it will all work out, good thing you got it checked out! I always have this irrational fear that I will die of cancer – haven’t been to the doctor in 15 years cuz I’m afraid of what I’ll find out. At least I eat healthy and exercise! (lame excuses…)

Deal eel on the beach??! Hahaha. Ew, day old sushi sounds awful.

Comment by Graze With Me

It was the first visual that came to mind… it was all flopped over and stuff. Okay, I’ll stop. 15 years! Wow! I put of going for this for about 6 months (and thought that was awhile) because I started to imagine all the things that might be wrong.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I meant **dead** ha.

Comment by Graze With Me

OMG girl that is awful. I have never heard of that happening. I know thoughts of canceling a race and being in the middle of school can put your emotions all over the place. To be working so hard at things and then forced to have something interrupt that is less than appealing. I was really bummed when I hurt my foot recently and had to cancel the 1/2 marathon. Then I realized it was an opportunity for me to start swimming and lifting more and join the rock gym with Chris. I’m only 26…I have time for races. If anything it makes me more excited. I can’t wait to start running again, ever SO slowly..really work on my technique. Hang in there girl..thinkin about you!!

Comment by Ashley

Great way to look at your running hiatus.. 🙂 Did you ever find out what was wrong?

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Hey! Sorry you feel bad! I had gallbladder surgery years ago, it’s not too bad, much better than dealing with the gall bladder pain.

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

Thanks, good to know that surgery isn’t toooo bad… hope you are having fun on vacation!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

