Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Weathering a Weekend by Katie
March 21, 2010, 2:05 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Coffee, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Run, Snacks, Wine

Between Thursday afternoon and Friday morning, the weather went from this:

IMG_0961

To this:

IMG_0967

Saturday was equally chilly but sunny and today, Sunday, it is already in the 50s.  Just one last storm I suppose!   Friday morning was a boring morning getting things done at the hospital and not being allowed to eat until almost noon.  I’ve always had some digestive issues but it’s been really bad the past few weeks.  It’s never been pegged on anything until now- my gall bladder is looking suspicious!  Friday was filled with non-pictured leftovers and going to bed super early so let’s skip onto Saturday shall we?

I started my day with a nice 7 AM run on a snow covered trail.  The run was for 2 hours, 15 minutes and with stopping for gel and water at the turnaround, and again for water on the way back in, I ran about 13.5 miles (splits were around 9:30 plus the stopping and a few slow spots where we were literally in 6 inches of snow)!  Here is how those miles went:

  • Mile 1:  Why oh why did I do this???? (This first mile must have been covered with extra snow from drifting, plus it was 17*.)
  • Mile 2-4: Okay I’m warming up, this isn’t so bad.
  • Miles 4-6.3: Oh hey stomach, nice of you to join me, why are you so angry at me?  Just make it to the half way point.
  • Miles 6.3-9.9: I think I just time traveled, how did that go by so fast???
  • Mile 10-12:  I need new socks. I’m fading a little, maybe some musical inspiration will help.
  • Mile 12-13.5: This is so hard I can’t do it, I want to stop… yikes getting worked up and almost crying is really bad for breathing, okay deep breaths, stop being so dramatic, think of all the people that would love to be able to run and can’t. I’ve got this! Running through snow is kind of bad ass right? Oh my gosh, I’m so tired, my feet are so cold, alright! I see the end of the trail!!!

Basically, I didn’t know I could experience that many emotions in 10 minutes.

After getting back, I immediately had a big bowl of banana PBJ oats.

IMG_0973

It warmed me up from the inside.  After the long runs everyone says things like “Don’t you feel so accomplished!? And now you have the rest of the day to do whatever you want!”  After a long run like that, all I want to do is stretch, ice, elevate my legs, and nap.  Plus I’m so exhausted by 9 PM I’m ready for bed! I do feel accomplished but it definitely interferes with my weekend.

I’m pretty sure my regular argyle knee highs (what? not everyone has those?) are just like compression socks.  They felt great on my legs.

IMG_0987

I napped for a little bit and then John and I did some grocery shopping and had snack time (we waiting till 4:30 to break out the wine ;))- Blue Moose salsa, guacamole, and some Irish Porter Cheddar.

IMG_0981

IMG_0982

IMG_0984

John joined Mondo Vino’s monthly wine club this past week.  This entails 2 bottles (a red and a white) each month for 3 months at $75.  Plus, other select bottles are 15% off and all bottles are 10% off.  This French Chardonnay wasn’t as buttery as many chardonnay’s but did have some oakiness.

IMG_0991 IMG_0989

For a late dinner, we wanted sushi.  For some reason, the guac made me think of wasabi and then sushi obviously came to mind!  Both places we tried were at least a 30-40 minute wait so we wandered around the Highlands area to Bang!

From the street front, you can see the kitchen.  We walked down a little alleyway to the entrance in the back.

IMG_0993

The inside was decorated with funky art and paint colors.

IMG_0996

After we ordered, they brought some bread and nice, soft butter!

IMG_0995

I ordered salmon over jasmine rice, with a cucumber salad and a wasabi sauce (around the edges).

IMG_0997

The salmon was very well cooked and delicious.  I ate every bite (well not all the rice, there was more than enough of that).

IMG_0999

Afterward, I attempted to go out like a young, fun person in their 20s but ended up driving people downtown instead and going to bed at 11 ;).  Sleep sounded so much better.  I think I’m getting a cold (hm maybe it’s these extreme weather changes!?) so it was for the better.

While John slept off his night of fun, I got a bunch of work done at Common Grounds.  Wow, this coffee is STRONG.  I’m typing so fast!

I also enjoyed a egg,cheese, tomato bagel sandwich once I determined John wouldn’t be up at any morning hour.

IMG_1000

Now that it’s in the high 50s, I think I’ll get outside and enjoy this weather!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

way to get out there and do those 13.5 miles. i agree: sometimes i have no idea how so many emotions can run through me either! but you did it 🙂

have you noticed a tangible difference using those recovery socks? i don’t know if mine really make a difference, but they feel good in the moment so i keep wearing them

Comment by marathonmaiden

I’ve never actually tried recovery socks (expensive!) but I like wrapping my legs in ace bandages after a run. Compression does feel good, though I don’t know if it “works.”

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

You are hardcore for doing that run in the snow!

And I love your argyle “compression” socks–and yes, I do have a pair of argyle knee socks as well!

Comment by Emily

YES! Love the knee socks for the winter weather, nice and toasty.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I do agree that long runs on the weekend tend to interfere with some fun. But I think you are a rockstar 🙂 And I love the argyle socks!

Comment by Meg

Thanks 🙂 I felt pretty good about being out there except for those last few miles… rough!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

LOVE your running recap!!! Way to face a challenge and negative thoughts and then completely 180 it!

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

