Two Lives, One Lifestyle


My First St. Pat’s Corned Beef and Cabbage by Katie
March 17, 2010, 10:57 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Dinner, Holidays, Katie

After 3 days of barely having an appetite, I [probably more than] made up for it today.   My bowl of oats was smaller than usual and topped with some granola and PB & J.   What a fun twist on a classic.

IMG_0926

I didn’t bring my camera to lunch- a sandwich and beer in St. Pat’s celebration.  Lunchtime beer is such a mistake, I was so sleepy after that.   The 70* weather was gorgeous though!!

After working, I stopped at Great Harvest for (still warm) Irish Soda Bread.  After eating way too many “just one more piece” pieces I finally froze the rest of the bread.  Fresh bread is so hard to resist!

IMG_0948

Too bad it wasn’t that filling.  Since dinner wouldn’t be ready until at least 7, I snacked on the rest of my Noosa, adding some protein granola and PB for extra staying power.

IMG_0935

IMG_0932

For dinner, I made corned beef and cabbage of course.  This was my first attempt away from home and it turned out okay.  Matt and Jorge seemed to really like it but it wasn’t like my moms ;).

After rubbing the (2.5 lb) corned beef with some brown sugar, I covered it in 8 oz. of Guinness + some extra water + foil.  This is how we made it over the weekend and it is goooood.

IMG_0929

When I pulled it out of the oven to check it out after 2.5 hours (at 300*), the Guinness and carmelized sugar scents were prominent.  If it wasn’t also filled with fatty bubbles, I may have eaten a spoonful of the “sauce.” Okay, I definitely just grossed out some vegetarians somewhere.   Here are some veggies to make up for it.  I used a little of the roasting juices and more Guinness.  After an hour at 250*, the vegetables were not softened so I put them into a saucepan to boil.

IMG_0941

IMG_0946

Finished product- tender and juicy:

IMG_0950

After dinner, I had a bit of Coconut Milk cookie dough ice cream.  I really do not like how prominent the coconut flavor is but unless it’s spoiled or really inedible, I refuse to throw it out. This pint has taken me more than a month to eat- that’s a first.

Did you eat any Irish foods or drinks tonight?! If you didn’t see the recaps by Kelli and I, most of my celebrating took place this weekend with my family.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The soda bread looks great.

Comment by Slamdunk

I had a margarita…with Silver Patron, does that count?? haha

I’ve never had soda bread before…looks gooood 🙂

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

no irish food for me….I have no spirit! Booo

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

Your corned beef looks awesome! What a great idea to cook it in Guinness. I have a part-Irish friend who always makes corned beef & cabbage for St. Patty’s Day and I love to eat it. 🙂

Enjoy Omnivore’s Dilemma–it’s one of my favorites!
(and boo for a blizzard today)

Comment by Emily




Leave a Reply

