Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Grown-Up Grilled Cheese and Pollan by Katie
March 16, 2010, 11:25 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie, Soup

I’ve been pretty MIA around here, huh?  After a visit home and being surrounded by friends and family, I’m always a little withdrawn, reflective, and sad.   However, it took moving so far away to really realize how much I value home!!  Once I’m done with school, I’m really hoping to find a job within driving distance of my family (or to live at home for awhile if I don’t have a job ;)).

My last supper at home- Dubliner made with stout (so creamy), pierogies boiled and then browned in butter and onions, chicken sausage from the farmer’s market, & spinach.

Unrelated to that, my appetite has been bizarrely low due to some digestive system issues that will hopefully be figured out this week.  On top of that, I either strained a muscle or irritated a tendon in my left leg so I’m taking it easy on the training front.  All in all, that makes for some boring blogging!

In better news, I am making my way through The Omnivore’s Dilemma and it is blowing my mind!  I’ve read smaller articles and some of In Defense of Food (a vegan guy let me borrow it once while we were on a 5 hour train ride, and gave me a delicious vegan blueberry muffin too. How’s that for subtle convincing?) which had piqued my interest.   My book appetite is voracious and once I start reading a book, I almost don’t stop until it’s done.  So since I usually don’t have a whole day to my leisure, I don’t read many books anymore.  A full post on that is in the works.

Tonight, while I sat reading some more I snacked on this new yogurt I found. I realized it was made locally with local milk and everything! Yay, Pollan would be proud.. and I am too!

You can see how thick and creamy it is.  The honey variety was lightly sweetened and was thicker than plain yogurt but less tangy than Greek yogurt or Siggi’s.  I would definitely buy it again.

For dinner, I kept it simple- grilled cheese and tomato soup.  Well, grilled gouda cheese + fresh basil (local) + tomatoes.

I tried to have a Girl Scout cookie for dessert but it tasted “off” :(. I don’t like when my appetite is low and weird!  Well, off to read more Pollan!!!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay for Omnivores Dilemma, I just recently finished it up myself! and Pollan WOULD be proud of your local dairy! heheh and so am i 😉 thank you for the lovely comment on my blog!

Comment by Kelly

that grilled cheese looks so delish 🙂

Comment by Kelli

I loved Omnivore’s Dilemma!! It really changed how I think about food and was a huge jumping off point for being a healthier eater!!

Comment by Rachel @ Shedding It

I can’t wait for more things to be in season here.. I was hyper aware at the store yesterday about where things were from!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Mmm your sandwich looks so good!

I’m the same way with books – I will stay up all night long to finish a book. I have started listening to audio books which definitely slows things down and forces me to spread the books out. So far its taken me 3 months to get through the Twilight saga – which otherwise I probably would have read in 3 days.

Comment by Elle @ Acquired Tastes

Kelli told me that at Cracker Barrel you can buy a book and then return it for (most) of your money back. There’s one close by and I drive to Denver all the time so I should do this! It would slow me down too.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Yummmmmy…I have to try that noosa! I’ve seen it but just haven’t gotten it yet. Love both those books!!

Comment by Ashley

The Noosa is delicious. Yes it’s more pricey but if I learned one thing from Pollan it is worth spending a little more on good food!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

