Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Two Lives, One St. Patricks Day by Kelli
March 15, 2010, 5:57 am
Filed under: Dinner, Food, Holidays, Kelli, Races, Run, Workout

Hi All!  So you all know by now where the heck I have been and why I have not been posting.  I was in Rochester, NY visiting Katie and her family for St. Pats weekend!  Katie has always talked about her wonderful memories of her St. Patrick’s day celebrations with her family and I was SO excited to be able to join this year!  I can’t believe I have not seen Katie since October (Bucknell homecoming)!  It was a nice treat to get to see her 🙂

Thursday was a VERY exciting day.  Besides being my last day at work for the week it was also the day I became a HOME OWNER!  YES, the seller’s of the brick, two-story, cape we loved in Manchester accepted out offer to buy their house 🙂  Below I put a few pics from the listing.  We have yet to get in there and take our own pictures.  I am THRILLED!  We close in the middle of MAY!

The outside of the house.  They have let the shrubs get pretty overgrown so I am excited to get in that yard and clean it up a bit.

The kitchen!  I am so excited to shop for fun bar stools!

The living room.  There is a beautiful bay window at the front that looks into the front yard.  I would like to turn it into a window seat 🙂  Perfect for sitting at with a lap top and blogging!

So there is our house!  There is A LOT to do in the coming weeks.  Give our notice with the apartment, find a good bank for our mortgage, and start organizing so we can pack!  PHEW!

After the excitement of Thursday I could barely sleep that night!  I was also so excited to be heading to Katie’s house the next day!  I woke up nice and early Friday morning, packed up, went to gym for a quick work out, showered at  the gym and was on the road!  It is about a 5 1/2 hour drive from central CT to Rochester. To speed up the drive I decided to go to Cracker Barrel for some books on DVD.  I chose “While My Sister Sleeps” and “Visions of White”.  Between both drives I got all the way through “While My Sister Sleeps” and am excited to finish “Visions in White” this week on my commute 🙂

When I got to Katie’s I was SOO excited!!!  Her Mom’s two friends were staying for the weekend too.  We enjoyed a fun dinner of home-made mac and cheese and AMAZING eggplant!!!  SO GOOD!!!

After dinner is was time to get busy with some chop chop!  Katie’s family was having about 30 people over after tha parade the next day so there were lots of veggies to chop!!

The next day we got up around 8 to get ready for the race and the parade!

At the start line!

I was really happy with how the race went.  Although the weather was not ideal (cold and rainy) it was still a lot of fun!  I lost Katie and her sister pretty quickly.  They are both much faster than me, and I did not want to burn out.  My goal time was 55 minutes, so around 11 minute miles.  I ended up finishing in 54 minutes and 30 seconds!  I averaged a 10:54 minute/mile.  I was very very happy about this!!!

After the race it was time for the parade!!!

After the parade we headed back to Katie’s house for FOOD!  Corned beef, cabbage, and lots and lots of extras!

Gorgeous cookies and a blurry Bailey’s cake!  How did I not take pictures of the corned beef?  Probably all those irish beverages!

By 10PM most of us looked like this…

And it was time to get in bed 🙂

Sunday morning (after a lovely corned beef hash breakfast) I started my 5 1/2 hour drive home.  I was pretty excited to see the hubby after being away from him for almost 3 days!  I got home at 5 PM and was in bed asleep by 7!  I was really tired and Stephen said I should just get in bed, and he thought I would be able to sleep through the night.  He was right!!!  I woke up to his alarm at 5:30 this morning and could not believe I slept for almost 11 hours STRAIGHT!  Without waking up once!  After my shock wore off I made a wonderful green monster…

1 cup almond milk, lots of spinach, 1/2 cup oats, 1 nanner, and 1 scoop protein powder.  DELICIOUS!

Well its time to get back to the routine.  Work and spinning tonight 🙂  Followed by some quality time with the hubby 🙂

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ahhh I love St. Patty’s. That race looks SO FUN!!!

Comment by Rachel @ Shedding It

[…] you eat any Irish foods or drinks tonight?! If you didn’t see the recaps by Kelli and I, most of my celebrating took place this weekend with my family. Possibly related […]

Pingback by My First St. Pat’s Corned Beef and Cabbage « Two Lives, One Lifestyle

[…] about over-achiever.  My first competitive run was a St Pat’s 5 Miler with my sister and Kelli and ever since that race, I couldn’t wait to do another (oh and that pesky surgery stopped me […]

Pingback by Cherry Creak Sneak Recap « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

