Two Lives, One Lifestyle


St. Patrick’s Celebrations by Katie
March 14, 2010, 8:28 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Cookies, Dessert, Dinner, Eggs, Family, Food, Katie

What a whirlwind weekend!  Saturday morning, Kelli, Madelyn (my sister) and I headed downtown for the race! My sisters first ever race and my first running race.  Unfortunately the weather was being uncooperative (aka rainy) and a bit windy.  However, I warmed right up running and the drizzle felt nice and refreshing.

My sister started running just 5 weeks ago and she decided to keep with me for as long as she could.  She was really nervous about being able to run the full 5 miles without stopping.  Well, someone has a running future is all I can say!!!  My official time was 45:33 and she beat me by 1 second ;).

IMG_0782

IMG_0785

IMG_0783

After a slow first mile weaving through the crowds, we sped up a little bit more and more.  The run was out and back and at the turn around I asked her how she felt.  I had a lot left and really wanted to make negative splits… and negative splits we sure did!

  • Mile 1- 9:35
  • Mile 2- 9:19
  • Mile 3- 8:54
  • Mile 4- 8:36
  • Mile 5- 8:06 (Garmin says my best pace was 5:05?! :-P)

The race t-shirts were so nice!

My Aunt had a room at the same hotel the race started at so we went up to change before the parade.

IMG_0786

As you can kind of see in the picture of Madelyn stretching (don’t be mad), my camera was foggy.  The cold and rain were making the lens cloudy so it went on top of the TV to get a bit warmer. It was knocked off accidentally and then I noticed the lens wouldn’t close all the way :(.   There was nothing seriously wrong with the picture taking, but the lens stayed open a slit so I left it at the hotel so it wouldn’t get scratched in my pocket and there are no pictures from the parade :(.

Post-parade, a few (25-30) family and friends came over for corned beef, cabbage, Irish beverages, and entertainment.

IMG_0790

IMG_0791

IMG_0792

Kelli post-cartwheel

IMG_0810

My mom mid-cartwheel!

IMG_0811

Car bombs… I did not partake.  They were also not made with that 100 proof whiskey (thought that was very delicious and hinted of vanilla).

IMG_0836

Live music by my cousin, most likely the Black Velvet Band.

IMG_0828

And plenty of cabbage, corned beef, carrots, potatoes, and Irish soda bread.  We even had Kerrygold Irish butter, which is pretty amazing.

IMG_0805

IMG_0803

IMG_0804

Oh, and at some point, I accidentally started to sit down on my camera (I felt it as I started to sit and jumped back up)!!  You’ll never believe this, but it actually fixed my camera.  Seriously.  The lens closed and it is all back to normal :).

My aunt made these pretty sugar cookies for dessert.  She is such a great artist with food and non-food items.

IMG_0799

IMG_0794

This gorgeous Bailey’s cake was made by my cousin’s girlfriend.  She wants to open her own bakery someday.  Don’t you agree that she would definitely succeed?!

IMG_0796

IMG_0797

Everyone was gone or in bed by 10 PM!

This morning, the leftovers went to good use in a corned beef hash- onions, potatoes, and corned beef.

IMG_0837

We topped it off with poached eggs.

IMG_0838

After breakfast, I sat in bed with the puppy and snuggled while watching Millionaire Matchmaker (we don’t get Bravo on CO cable; absurd).  As each episode ended I thought “maybe I’ll go shower and get work done now…” and then stayed put.  After a day of running, entertaining, and some drinking I think the rest was well-deserved ;).

Oh yes, see the shamrock??  He’s a German Shorthair Pointer with a shamrock ass in an Irish family = McShultz.

Back to real life tomorrow.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yaay for the awesome race time! Your dog is adorable and I WANT those cookies!!! mmm

Comment by Ashley

[…] you eat any Irish foods or drinks tonight?! If you didn’t see the recaps by Kelli and I, most of my celebrating took place this weekend with my family. Possibly related posts: […]

Pingback by My First St. Pat’s Corned Beef and Cabbage « Two Lives, One Lifestyle

[…] until I signed up for the marathon! Talk about over-achiever.  My first competitive run was a St Pat’s 5 Miler with my sister and Kelli and ever since that race, I couldn’t wait to do another (oh and that […]

Pingback by Cherry Creak Sneak Recap « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

