Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Canyon Chop House by Katie
March 9, 2010, 11:28 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Lunch, Restaurant, Run

I meant to mention last time that I was glad to hear we all have our crying moments.  Since being over-tired and stressed bring out the waterworks, I would basically be the worst mom. The kids would be crying, I’d be crying….

Anyway, breakfast today was a 2-egg and laughing cow breakfast sandwich.  If you haven’t bought any Great Harvest bread, I would suggest you Google a location near you.  Such good flavor and a nice simple ingredient list.  Oh, and that Minneola in the background.

IMG_0624

I scrounged around the fridge for a simple lunch of a sundried tomato hummus, avocado, and tomato wrap.  Simple but it was surprisingly substantial.

IMG_0625

Post-work, I had one of those runs that just happens with all the factors aligning- hit a pace right away, no sore spots, good music randomly popping onto my iPod, sunny weather.  My pace was spot on a nine-minute mile for all 5.6 miles (my training plan is based on time, so 50 minutes).  I don’t think I once saw anything outside of the range 8:45-9:15 on the Garmin.  Since pacing is a weak spot for me, naturally keeping in a tight range allowed me to enjoy the scenery and the run in general.  Anyway, now I feel like I’m bragging… but after 2 days of feeling lousy, this was a nice change of pace (pun intended) ;).

Dinner was my last feast out for Fort Collins Great Plates Restaurant week.   The Canyon Chop House had a cozy inside, which I didn’t expect for the exterior.  Our waitress seemed a bit annoyed with us from the get-go and the service wasn’t spectacular, although the company made up for it.

To start- frisse + yellow heirloom tomato + bacon crumbles + heart of palm in a green goddess dressing.  Once heirloom tomatoes are in season, I definitely want to repeat this at home.  Behind the salad is a warm and chewy piece of sourdough bread (served by a good looking young gentleman I might add).

IMG_0626

For an entree, I had a (very well) marinated flank steak with greens and fries.  The greens were garlicy and I think included chard and escarole, based on the taste and color.  Very much my style.  All of the food tasted just as expected or better, though I ran out of tummy space for all the fries.

IMG_0628

And when I say “ran out of tummy space” I mean that dessert was coming.  Vanilla bean crème Brule- which was as good as it sounds.  Creamy with bean flecks and a thin, crisp top.

IMG_0631

Thank my roommate for reminding me to even take pictures! I was all ready to dig into my salad when he yelled out “PICTURE!!”  The camera usually is the last thing on my mind when delicious food is set down in front of me, but with friends like Matt, this blog happens :).

Do you feel comfortable taking pictures in restaurants? I’m definitely getting better but at times it feels very unnatural.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am drooling over your dinner and dessert!

I don’t mind taking pictures actually. I just say I have food blog and say something like “dont mind me taking a pic of my dinner”, lol

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

I definitely don’t feel comfortable taking pictures in restaurants. The best I’ve done so far is to sneakily take cell phone pics. I feel totally weird with my huge camera taking hundreds of pics. Gotta get over it soon I guess! 🙂

Comment by Elle @ Acquired Tastes




Leave a Reply

