Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Veggies to Beer by Katie
March 4, 2010, 10:35 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Eggs, Ice cream, Katie, Lunch, Restaurant

It’s a good thing I started my day with vegetables, because it just went downhill nutrient-wise!

It’s a stir-fry! It’s pasta! No! It’s an omelet! [It’s a bird… it’s a plane….]

IMG_0557

IMG_0559

IMG_0562

Something happened at lunch that rarely happens.  I got so wrapped up in my work, I didn’t even think of food (!?) until Jorge asked me what I was doing for lunch.  Since un-glue-ing my eyes from the computer screen and walking around in 55* weather sounded like a fabulous idea, I went out for lunch again.  Does anyone have a good solution to this?! I love being social for a bit and getting outside and out of the office for a little, but going out 3/5 days a week adds up!

We walked to The Pickle Barrel and I had a “pulled turkey” buffalo sandwich.  Great Buffalo sauce, nice n spicy!!  There was avocado and tomato on it too, and I asked them to not butter the roll (a lot of sub shops do this).

IMG_0566

Other than the food, this is the best part about the Pickle Barrel.  The womens bathroom.  Who does this?!  After an initial “wtf!?” I thought about some of the times my friends and I have crammed into one stall at a bar/frat to continue convos.  This is a college town after all!

IMG_0564

Sometimes conveniently, and sometimes not-so-conveniently, Coldstone is right next door.  Today, I learned that anyone can order the kids size!  They give an actual 1/2 cup serving (possibly even less, it was small).  My mouth was on fire after the sammy and ice cream sounded perfect, so we went for it.

IMG_0567

Since I’m going skiing this weekend, my running schedule is a bit changed around and today was a rest day.  For the first time in months, I actually went to happy hour.  There happens to be a bar in the student union, and the windows face the mountains.  A beer while watching the sunset over the mountains? Yes please.

IMG00994-20100304-1712

Well, now happy hour is turning into friends coming over to continute happy “hour” so I’m going to get going! I’m not sure what I’m having for dinner yet but it’ll probably involve salsa and guac.

This weekend is going to include skiing and hanging out with friends I rarely see that live in Vail, so blogging might be spotty.  I’ll give it my best shot!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow…that toilet thing is…interesting? i could totally do some coldstone right about now… 🙂

Comment by Heather

That’s interesting. I know girls (who were raised with sisters) and have no problem going to the bathroom in front of people. I, on the other hand, would feel so uncomfortable! I think it’s because I was raised with boys and so that just NEVER happened!

Comment by Abby

I think that some public bathrooms are like that for disability compliance. They have to have the lower/higher toilet so that people in wheelchairs are able to use the restroom.

Happy hour sounds great right about now 😀

Comment by Elle @ Acquired Tastes

That’s a good point… though I still don’t know why they wouldn’t just have two separate stalls :-p

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

That toilet thing is weird! Oh college towns!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack




Leave a Reply

