Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Mushroom And Cream Cheese Burgers by Katie
March 3, 2010, 11:26 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Burger, Cookies, Dinner, Green Monster, Katie, Lunch, Mushrooms, Original Recipe, Run

It was just your standard day over here-

Oats for breakfast (1/4 c oats + 1/2 banana + 3/4 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk + handful of frozen blubies + coconut + PB blob)

IMG_0534

Leftovers for lunch- beans, peppers, potatoes, brown rice.  Topped with guac and salsa come lunchtime.

IMG_0529

Lunch and snacks- I actually didn’t eat my snacks cause someone so graciously placed a bag of Smartfood right next to me.  Needless to say, I ate at least a serving or two.

IMG_0531

The weather has been unbelievable and perfecto for running.  Heather asked why we exercise today and I thought about how my reasons for exercising have varied over the years.  I’ve viewed running as a way to get in shape for sports, a way to keep myself relaxed and sane, and as a way to burn calories, sometimes one reason greatly outweighing the others.  Head over to Heather’s Dish to dish about why you exercise.

Along the same vein, training for the marathon has been changing the way I think of running.  I’m all about my pace and heart rate and rarely look at calories.  I’m thinking of food as fuel more than anything else, which is leading to some of the most balanced eating I’ve ever done.  For example, after a run, I think about what I should eat for my body. Not what I should (or shouldn’t) eat for weight-loss; not what would immediately taste delicious (aka French fries and ice cream).  I eat when I’m hungry and try to eat something balanced cause half of the time, I’m going to run within a few hours or I just ran.  Have your views of food ever varied due to training, or maybe due to something like pregnancy?  I’d think that would be another time in life that the food quality would really be front and center.

Speaking of running, today was a 30 minute run, and I went with negative splits.

  • Mile 1– 9:55
  • Mile 2– 9:48
  • Mile 3– 9:34
  • Last 0.2– 8:19 (I have the need for speed)

Tangent off. 😉

After my run, I drank a green monster (bunch of spinach + vanilla almond milk + 1/2 a frozen banana) and caught up on my Tweets.  The important things.

IMG_0537

The last time Kelli visited (last MAY?!), I ate a mushroom-cream cheese burger that was to die for.  I’m sort of embarrassed to say that this burger has been on my mind since then and this was my first attempt to recreate it.  A girl can dream [about food] for 9 months right?

IMG_0541

I started sauteeing a bit of onion and garlic in olive oil, and then added about a cup of these frozen mixed mushrooms + 2 fresh button mushrooms.  I added a splash of soy sauce and then remembered Kelli’s burger- and added some steak sauce! I added probably 1 Tbsp of each.  After the shrooms were good and cooked, I tossed them into the food processor with 1 TBSP of cream cheese and a few crackers.

IMG_0546

I sprinkled in a teeny bit of this gouda.  Lots of grocery stores have these mini cheese samples, and are perfect for sampling, especially when you cook for one.

IMG_0545

After grinding it all together, I made a patty and fried it in a bit of butter.  Meanwhile, there was some garlic broccoli cooking (olive oil, garlic, and broc until it’s bright green).

IMG_0544

The finished product, with a couple goat cheese crumbles.  Looks close to a real burger, no?

IMG_0548

The insides- even more beef-like.

IMG_0555

Huhg jass pile of broccoli.

IMG_0550

And the sweet potato fries that inspired it all.  Thought process- I want sweet tater fries, what goes with fries? Burger! I have no meat. Mushrooms!

IMG_0551

Now, I’m going to relax with a GS Cookie (Samoa) or two and some Malbec. 🙂

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this sounds amaaaaaaazing (i sang that for ya ;)) i kinda like having to find other “meaty” things to eat!

Comment by Heather

I forgot to write it in there, but they were a teeny bit on the soggy side. I’d suggest draining the mushrooms or using some bread crumbs instead of crackers maybe??

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Yum yum mushrooooms!! mmmmm

Comment by Ashley

GREAT run! Woot Woot!

Comment by Kelly

Mmm, that burger looks awesome! I got a 3-miler in today as well and my splits were pretty much the same!

Comment by Olivia

mmm malbec and samoas! Yum! That burger sounds tasty!

Comment by Beth @fatbustermack

[…] favorite veggie burger?  I should probably just start working on my own recipe… though my mushroom cream cheese burger is pretty delish! Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave a comment RSS feed for […]

Pingback by Monday Meals « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

