Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Bas Bleu Mardi Gras by Katie
February 24, 2010, 8:10 pm
Filed under: Dessert, Dinner, Katie, Restaurant

As I mentioned in the past post, my roommate is general manager of a local theatre company, Bas Bleu, and they had their annual Mardi Gras event last night.

IMG_0372

Jorge (roommie’s boyfriend, my grad school friend- it works out well) and I grabbed some wine to start out.  It was pretty dark, so some flash happened.

IMG_0339

There were plenty of great items being bid on in a silent auction.  Jorge bid on the item below, which was from a local home store and included wine, a decorative pillow, 2 martini glasses, a picture frame, and a candle all in a gorgeous box/plant holder (?).

IMG_0353

IMG_0348

I loved this bow!

IMG_0351

A pretty scarf and handmade cards.  I really liked this artists work, I can’t wait for spring flowers.

IMG_0352

The silent auction items were fun to look at but let’s be honest, we were looking forward to the food! A bunch of local restaurants donated great food for the fundraiser.  Each restaurant station serves up a small tasting portion, which was excellent since I was interested in trying just about everything ;).

First, we tried etouffee (like gumbo, with shellfish and sausage) and a small piece of white chocolate bread pudding from CooperSmith’s. All of the pictures of this turned out badly, but the etouffee was just so-so while the bread pudding was outstanding!

IMG_0358

The next sample came from The Canyon Chop house: pulled pork sliders, coleslaw, and gumbo.

IMG_0357

This gumbo was slightly spicy and more flavorful than the etouffee. The pulled pork was some of the best I’ve tasted (and I am a big pulled pork fan)- very smoky, not too saucy.  I skipped the bun, just because the meat was so great on it’s own! [The pictures are reddish hued due to the lighting].

IMG_0319

There was yet another etouffe (I missed a picture of the restaurant name!) which was more seafood tasting.  They served it over rice which turned into a sticky clump.  Between the strong seafood taste and rice issues, I only had a few tastes before moving on.

IMG_0333

Next, Enzios!  This is one of my favorite restaurants in Fort Collins.  They serve homemade pasta and interesting, flavorful dishes.  Expect a full review during the upcoming Fort Collins Restaurant Week!

IMG_0355

IMG_0335

Unfortunately, the usually delicious chicken picatta was a bit cold.  It still tasted good enough to eat it up though. 😉  The tiramisu totally made up for it! My picture doesn’t do it justice at all.

IMG_0345

Another missing picture was Basil Fried Rice from Sri Thai. Oh. My. Goodness.  That was the best dish of the night!  There is probably no picture because I was gobbling it up.

IMG_0356

While we ate, drank wine, and chatted, a jazz/swing/big band style band played- so my style!

IMG_0395

There was lots of dancing.

IMG_0390

And festive decor.

IMG_0368

IMG_0321

IMG_0359

IMG_0342

IMG_0404

Though, the best festive decor was this guy’s jacket and his wife’s cape!!

IMG_0392

After a little too much wine and more than enough fun, I was very ready for bed.  Way more exciting than my typical Tuesday night!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

What a fun celebration!! Talk about a nice mid-week break! 🙂

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

