Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Stretch, ice, roll, repeat by Katie
February 21, 2010, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Elliptical, Katie, Lift, Snacks

Usually, as soon as I wake up, my mind starts going- I start forming to-do lists for the day, planning out a schedule, deciding on eats, etc.  Today, I blocked it all out and let myself sleep in with John (he is a natural at sleeping in).  Last night, we went to Elway’s as I mentioned.  Idid not take any pictures because I felt like I’d look like a tourist that had never been to a a classy restaurant.  I’m still a bit weird about taking picture while we are out in general, and this felt especially awk.

When we arrived, a valet was sprinting to the door before I could open it myself (they have complimentary valet parking) and the same thing happened for every door we approached.   Since I don’t have pictures, I won’t talk for too long but the service, the drinks, and especially the FOOD was excellent.  You’ll be seeing some leftovers tomorrow night ;).  There is NO WAY we would have been able to have soup, salad, entrees, and dessert here for $52.80 on any other day… I love restaurant week!

After our exhausting outing of being catered to our every need (I hope you sense my sarcasm :-P), sleeping in was essential.  Now that I know John loves oats too, it’s a go-to breakfast for us.  Look what I found!!  Almost empty PB jar!!

After scooping out a heaping TBSP for John, I added banana oats and a few spoonfuls of Greek yogurt (whatever was left in the container).  Doesn’t it kinda look like whipped cream with chocolate sprinkles??

I worked on tons of fundraising things for TNT and then hit the gym for a short, light elliptical workout followed by tons of stretching and foam rolling (and a tri/shoulders lift sesh). My knees have been in a bit of pain so I’m icing them as I type.  Overall, I’m surprisingly not sore but I want to keep it that way so I’m being sure to do tons of post-run stretching, foam rolling, and icing.

After my workout, I ate half a bagel broiled with some tomatoes and parmesan.  It was good but not great, I was starving though and there is little to no food options at this house!

For dinner, we went to El Camino’s which we are really liking lately due to their cheap (and good) happy hour deals.  We had one marg with chips and salsa, but our waiter forgot our chips and salsa so when he eventually brought them, he also brought another round of margs for free.  Helloooo Sunday night!

I love Mexican food a LOT, all the spicy cheese-covered goodness, but I was way more in the mood for a salad.   The spinach salad was really, really perfect- whole spinach leaves, tomatoes, chopped egg, just enough queso fresco, cranberries.  I love when restaurants make something the way it would be made at home- not covered in cheese and dressing.  I’m still a little confused that I was craving spinach as opposed to a quesadilla.. maybe my tastes are changing? Or I just knew I was low on vegetables for the day.  Either way, it was delicious and I don’t feel terribly full like usual after eating Mexican.

We just had a pudding cup for dessert..  Sometimes, I love the treats John has on hand that I rarely buy ;).

Alright, off for some reading, snuggles, and an early night!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Haven’t had a pudding cup in ages! I love occasionally trying some of the treats Allen buys but that I wouldn’t buy for myself as I wouldn’t finish the whole box, ie cookies 🙂

Comment by Run Sarah

Aaaah, I neeed to do some foam rolling! I have such a love/hate relationship with that thing!! 😉

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA




Leave a Reply

