Two Lives, One Lifestyle


My longest run ever- that will soon seem short by Katie
February 20, 2010, 5:18 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Green Monster, Katie, Lunch, Marathon, Run, Team in Training

Today was my first significantly long group run with Team in Training!  I knew the weather was going to be wintery and I’ll be completely honest that I was not looking forward to the run.  I slept an extra 30 minutes, ate some toast with PB&J and made my final decision to just GO, it wasn’t like it was a blizzard.  We’ve been spoiled with some nice weather in Denver lately but it’s not like I’ve ever never been outside in 20* weather, c’mon Katie!

Run Recap (aka lots of words)

The spirit of Team in Training peeps is incredible, and the coaches are so motivating!  We basically ran to wherever 38 minutes took us, turned around, and ran back.  [For any Denver people.. we started at REI and my turn around point was Cherry Creek mall.  I’m pretty terrible at directions around here but seeing the mall surprised me and made me feel pretty darn good!]  I chatted with someone on the first leg of the run (time freakin’ FLIES by) and after the turn-around, I was mostly on my own.  I was hitting a good rhythm and the snow was falling so prettily:  It was heavenly (umm never though I would speak so generously about running)! After about an hour, I was deliriously happy and felt like I could go forever, guess that’s some sort of “zone” or “high” kicking in?

I’d love to take pictures but not sure I want to carry my camera, my phone, an iPod, and have the Garmin.  I’d be like a walking piece of technology.  Speaking of the Garm, I was holding about a 9:30 pace on most of the first half of the run, slowed down to 10:00 min/mile for a mile because of a side stitch, and then the second half I was around 9:15 min miles! I could not believe it!! Since I was chatting it up the whole way out, I barely noticed how quick we were going.. but once I did, I decided I should keep it up.  All in all, about 7.85 miles in 1:15.  I think this is the farthest I’ve ever run but I almost never kept track of mileage for 9 of the 10 years I have been running around.  All in all, the snow and cold had nothing on me!  I wonder if training at altitude will help… but that’s a post of it’s own ;).

After the run, a sports medicine doc talked about stretching, foam rolling, typical injuries, etc.   You know how shin splints feel like your shin is about to rip from your leg?? Guess what I learned? The muscle really is tearing from the shin! OW, and gross!  I’m going to start icing my knees after the long ones.  The knees are in serious pain for about 15-20 minutes after I completely stop (I make sure to walk around a lot and cool down, plus stretching) but not during the run or at any random times.  Anyone else have this problem/ know what it is?

Eats

Since then, I’ve had half a wheat bagel with PB, leftover Thai noodles and shrimp from last night with a bunch of added veggies, and a green monster (with vanilla whey powder as a new addition).

Tonight is the first night of the Denver Restaurant Week and we’re going to Elway’s, a really nice restaurant, tonight.  John picked this one, I get to pick the next one!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ahhh love restaurant weeks!! i can’t wait to see where you’ll go even though i know nothing about any restaurants there i just love clicking on the menus and picking out what i’ll eat haha

great info on shin splints!!

Comment by julie

Ok, so sorry I’ve been MIA! I’m back though and ready to read & comment@ 🙂

Yay! Congrats! So glad to hear the long run went well! Great pace, too. It’s amazing what running with someone does for your pace and overall outlook doesn’t it?! I’d never run with anyone before my first TNT run and I LOVED IT. I totally know what you mean about the “heavenly” aspect of the snow! On my run last Saturday it was definitely coming down and I honestly loved it (most of the time anyway!) The snowflakes were so big they were getting caught in my eye lashes! Craziness.

And I did not know that about shin splints. I noticed that when I run on the treadmill now my right shin gets achey, I think my body is totally loving the outdoor running. Hope your fund raising is going well!

Comment by Olivia




Leave a Reply

