Two Lives, One Lifestyle


I Need a Hip Replacement by Kelli
February 17, 2010, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Eggs, Kelli, Marathon, Run, Snacks

Hey blog friends! Happy hump day! We are getting close to the weekend!! Woohoo!

I was up bright and early with the husband today. Somedays when his alarm goes off at 5:30 I can fall right back to sleep and get anout another hour of sleep. But some days (like today) I am bright eyed and bushy tailed before the alarm even goes off!

My hip had been hurting a lot lately with how much running I have been doing, so I did a 20 minute hip opener yoga DVD to try and get the bugger stretched out. It is still really killing me though. It feels like I can only move it in one direction. Weird.

Also on the agenda this morning was breakfast! I made some glorious scambled eggs. I threw in some of egg plant and asparagus I was chopping this morning in preperation for tomorrow’s lunch. I am really loving roasted veggies for lunch lately, so I am trying to plan ahead and have them as much as possible.

The eggs

The veg.

Amazing 🙂

I knew today was going to be hella busy just like yesterday so I packed a quick and easy lunch. Amy’s low sodium Minestrone. I was not as impressed with this on as I am with the veggie lentil. Serves me right for trying something new 🙂

While I was busy working I munched on some greek yogurt with blueberries and honey. Today I added some slivered almonds for extra staying power. Twas glorious 🙂 I think bluberries and greek yogurt is coming a new favorite combo. Whenever I find something I like a lot I tend to eat it and eat it and eat it until I can’t stand to look at it anymore (I’m still waiting for this to happen with brussel sprouts).

I also enjoyed some coconut water.  I have seen people with these little juice boxes at yoga, so I decided to try it out.  It was ok, not really all its cracked up to me.  Still a great alternative to soda or juice though

After work I came home to a sleeping husband 🙂 Stephen was FAST asleep on the couch when I got into our apartment. He woke up for a little while when I asked him if he wanted to come workout with me, the answer was no 🙂 I went to our apartment gym for a 4 mile easy run. I got through this run with ease thanks to the fact that I was watching the Kardashians on the tube 🙂 I put a towel over the timer and just kept running until the show was over (I started running about 20 minutes into it). When the Kardashians were over I was pleasantly surprised to find that my run was almost over too!! Woohoo! Maybe I can convince Kim, Khloe, and Kourtney to drive along side me at the marathon to keep Katie and I entertained. I stretched for a long time afterward because my hip was killing me. So weird.

When I got back Stephen was still fast asleep, so I made dinner as quietly as possible. Squash with pesto and a sprinkling of parm cheese. This is definately a combo I will be eating more of! I was ALMOST convinced that the squash was real pasta! Almost 🙂

So how do you guys like to pass the time during workouts? Do you stick to music or do you find some other way to entertain yourself?

I hope you had a great day!!!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

FOUR weeks until I see you!! I hope your hip feels better. Madelyn texted me post-run about how “amazing” it felt and I melted like buttah.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

mmm blueberries and yogurt… or blueberry yogurt… or blueberry tea… or blueberries in general are my FAVORITE! at one point this past summer, breakfast consisted of blueberry yogurt with kashi, a side of blueberries, and blueberry tea. best morning ever 🙂

Comment by Cassie




Leave a Reply

