Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Meatless Monday Quickie Veggie Stir Fry by Katie
February 16, 2010, 12:12 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Katie, Lift, Lunch, Mushrooms, Run, Snacks

Well hello! One advantage of using the blackberry for photos was flexibility of posting at any computer.   I’ll try to make up for fewer posts with better pictures and better content ;).

I woke up looking forward to my leftover pancakes!  To add staying power, I topped it with some banana slices and peanut butter before microwaving and everything got nice and melty!  No syrup necessary… okay, little bit of syrup.

When Jorge asked me what I was doing for lunch, I didn’t even realize it was noon- hooray for Monday morning flyin’ by and a stick to the ribs breakky.   I had brought a frozen Kashi delight but the microwave was broken!  Not going to lie, getting out of the office sounded great too.  Going somewhere off campus for lunch means a decent 10-15 minute walk and it feels good to stretch out and have come real, live human friend interaction.  Love the blogs and the twittering [and the work?] but need some face-to-face time.

We went to Cilantro Grille and I ordered 2 fish tacos- seasoned fishies, avocado, shredded cabbage, mango chunks, red onion, sprinkle of cheese.  Very delicious.

Pre-taco time, I had some of this totally fresh pico that Jorge ordered.  It looks like Heather’s bruschetta! The salsa tastes almost as good- some cilantro instead of basil, and probs less oil + more vinegar?

It came with rice and black beans, which I covered in mango/ scotch bonnet hot saucey.  I like this little place because everything is SO fresh and they make it when you order it.  The portions are perfect and leave me satisfied without feeling like I’m going to pass out in a food coma on my desk.  Last but not least, the prices are completely reasonable.

This meal held me over well too! Around 5:30, I ate a bit of leftover Ashley’s fruit and nut quinoa and it powered me through an effortless run! Seriously, the 30 minutes at a 10 minute mile felt effortless.  I suppose this is a great thing!  Throughout the run, I focused on how my foot was landing- I’m trying to reduce my heel striking and improve my technique.  It felt fine during the run and cool down walk but after I stepped off the treadmill, my calves were soooo tense as in even standing hurt.  Lots of stretching made it all better.

On Saturday, when I was being a high-energy, endorphin-addict spaz, I did a random arm workout.  My little cheat sheet was forgotten and I ran around doing whatever piqued my interest.  Today, I got back on track with the Fitnessista Iron Intro Plan, Day 1.

  • Overhead press: 3 x 15 with 12.5-lb dumbbells
  • Dips: 3 x 12
  • Stability Ball Push Ups:  3 x 15
  • Planks: 4 x 30 seconds
  • Lateral Raises: 3 x 15 with 5-lb dumbells
  • Cable Tricep Extension: 3 x 15 with 20 lbs

After the gym, I hit up the grocery store for some essentials and saved a  TON of money with coups, like ten bucks. No joke!

I came home and felt like a big bowl of stir-fried veggies, as they were missing from my life all weekend.

Broccoli + cauliflower + onion + mushrooms + peas + tomato + pineapple, cooked with a few shakes of soy sauce, a couple TBSPs of peanut sauce, and sriracha.  I let it all simmer together on low heat while cooking brown rice.  Meanwhile, since I was starving, I had 2 leftover bruschetta (sadly it’s all gone) and a sliver of the Dominoes my roommate and company ordered.  They concur that the new and improved version really is improved.

I’m going to drink tons of water now so I don’t feel too salty from the quick stir-fry.

Some chocolate might happen from the care package my dad and stepmom sent.  I was probably most excited for the hair ties: my thick hair and sweaty mess workouts cause me to stretch them out and break them constantly.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Aaaah, those pancakes look AMAZING!!! I want some! 🙂 🙂

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

Mmm, nothing like a big bowl of veggies for dinner – my favorite kind. I’m loving those pancakes, too.

Comment by Katie

I forgot to mention where they are from- restaurant downtown called The Lobby. I recommend it 🙂

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

